ibook g3 screen question

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by shoveland, Jan 25, 2006.

1. shoveland macrumors newbie

My friend has a bit older g3 ibook. Just recently the screen has began to only work when the computer is open at about a 15 degree angle (acute). What is wrong here and what does it take (cost) to fix this problem?

Thanks!

2. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

calebjohnston

If it only works at an angle.. I'd say wiring issues. I'm new to mac, but that isn't really a mac specific problem. Call your local retailer. They'll probably have to ship it off and get that taken care of.

3. TLRedhawke macrumors 6502

It's most likely just one of the cables. They're generally pretty cheap. The only issue is whether the screen is turning off altogether, or whether the backlight is just turning off, thus making it really really dark. That really just determines which cable you need to replace.

4. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

I've heard about this before... it's something like the 90° to black problem, I think.

It's the reed switch going out, IIRC.

order one from PBfixit.com

I'd wait for a few more people to chime in before ordering and preparing to install a new reed switch, though. (I'm not 100% sure)

5. DaveP macrumors 6502

DaveP

I replaced a iBook G4 screen and did a lot of research about iBook screens. The problem you are describing is common amoung G3's. As for the exact cables you need, I'm not sure. I know you can get some on ebay sometimes. Actually, I think I have some G3 ones (from my G4 repair, I had a broken LCD and I swapped a G3 in and I think I still have the G3 wires). Let me know if you are interested in buying them for relatively cheap.

6. EHUnlucky7x9@ao macrumors 6502

I"ve had the same problem before. It was a wiring issue. It would pinch one of the cables. Although, it was on a Powerbook... Check the wires for any crimps.... if ther are none, then it must be the reed switch. Check ebay for prices on that.