ibook G4 16bit video card upgrade?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by TheSeaduckG4, May 28, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    #1
    If anyone out there has ever seen "Tailspin" you know what i am talking about when i call my ibook, The Seaduck. it is already as souped up as I can afford to with 1.2gb of ram.

    in my system requirements I see it says

    Displays:Color LCD:Depth: 32-bit Color

    Is this the same thing as a video card?

    I am trying to run CS3, and some things are extreemely jumpy. i am wondering if this is because of resolution or if I need a video card(CS3 requires a 16 bit video card), or maybe hard drive? (i have 30gb-9gb free).

    i know the Seaduck can take a bigger hard drive, but i am not sure about video card.

    Also, i have the 12" model ibook, and htis makes me feel like I am trying to write my nome on a grain of rice when I work in flash so i am wondering if I can hook my computer up to a better monitor, if you have any recomendations, and what the implications of that would be.

    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    It's a chip on the logic board; you can't upgrade.
     
  3. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    Yep, isn't like the old Performas with the VRAM slot.

    All one board you cannot upgrade these days.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    #4
    well, ok. it only jumps when I use the most complicated of graphics, like a vectorized bitmap for a cursor, so I am guess I'll just work around it until I can aford a better machine...

    but what about connecting a monitor to my laptop to get a bigger workspace? is there any that will connect through the firewire or usb port or something? preferably one that I can use on another computer when I upgrade so i don't have to purchase twice?
     
  5. jnc
    macrumors 68020

    jnc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Nunya, Business TX
    #5
    As far as I know, external displays will only mirror on iBooks? You won't be able to get a better resolution than the iBook's screen.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Accylad

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Accrington
    #6
    No way just mirror! Use screen spanning doctor, to get all the functionality of a Powerbook. I have it with mine and its great! I put an 80gb fast Hd in + a nice dvd writer. My ibook also has Front Row. Apple do like you to pay for the extras but there are always workarounds!:D
     

Share This Page