iBook g4 airport working, but no connection in firefox or safari

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by galstaph, Apr 25, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    galstaph

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    The Great White North Eh
    #1
    Alright so here is the problem my iBook, (g4, 1.33ghz, 12" 10.4.11) connects no problem to my router via airport (confirmed via router log, ip is leased) BUT I am not able to get safari nor firefox to connect to the internet.
    Any suggestions?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #2
    Is this a new problem? Have you been able to connect by Airport before? Maybe check your settings of how those browsers connect?
    \
     
  3. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Connected but no Internet is usually a DNS problem,

    What are your network settings for the Airport connection?
    IP address
    Router.Gateway address
    Subnet mask
    DNS address(es)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    galstaph

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    The Great White North Eh
    #4
    new problem within the last week or so. Router and airport talk just fine (verified via router log files showing ibooks mac address leasing properly), hell I can even look at the ibook via airport from my mbp! I'm almost thinking of just doing a reinstall of tiger (or I can upgrade to 10.5), but I'm not sure it'll fix it.

    I'll maybe try zapping the pram see if it helps - (edit) didn't help :(
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Dns

    What are your DNS settings on the laptop?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    galstaph

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    The Great White North Eh
    #6
    left blank, but just tried the dns server from my mbp, 192.168.0.1 and the search domain (my isp) still nada
     
  7. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    192.168.0.1 is not the DNS server, it is the router's IP address

    Try entering the OpenDNS server numbers 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    galstaph

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    The Great White North Eh
    #8
    CanadaRAM, that didn't work. Jut got it to though. I assigned a static ip and viola it works! (must be because we have so much on the network, 2 ps3's, wireless printer, and 2 lappys) thanks for your help guys:)
     

Share This Page