iBook G4 V. Powerbook G4 12"

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by seattlemaclover, Feb 26, 2004.

1. seattlemaclover macrumors member

I am a college student and am need of a notebook computer for school. I don't know weather or not I should get a iBook G4 (which size?) or a 12" powerbook. Please help! I will be using this almost entirely for school, with some time for fun ;) Please respond ASAP!

2. ibookin' macrumors 65816

ibookin'

What will you be doing with it?

The iBook is slower than the PowerBook in some things, mostly due to the larger L2 cache on the PowerBook, but if you're only going to be doing basic word processing, email, IM, etc. then you don't need the extra power the PowerBook offers.

3. Inspector Lee macrumors 6502a

Inspector Lee

I'd recommend the 12" iBook over the 14 definitely. Size, weight, overall slickness. The 14 looks a little clunky. The 12" PB is another story, another level of slickness, but also another $$$ level. But with the 12"PB, you could add a cinema display down the road. If you are willing to go with the 12" screen on the PB, then eliminate the 14" iBook from contention.

4. seattlemaclover thread starter macrumors member

I will be using it mainly for the web, e-mail, reports, note taking, word processing, presentations, spreadsheets, and iTunes. Also I am on a limited budget.

5. ibookin' macrumors 65816

ibookin'

iBook.

6. seattlemaclover thread starter macrumors member

7. cmx08 macrumors regular

the unique 12"

too cute to miss it out.

12" is the one:)

8. ibookin' macrumors 65816

ibookin'

12" 800MHz. If you don't need the Combo drive you can get it without for $949, but I suggest spending the extra $100 on a Combo drive. Also, get another 256MB or 512MB of RAM, but buy it from a third party to get the best deal.

9. seattlemaclover thread starter macrumors member

Is the 12" screen to small to work on? I am used to 17" desktops. Would the 14" be better. I am in front of the screen most of the day.