iBook: How much difference does exxtra RAM make?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by GanChan, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    #1
    I have a 1.2GHz G4 iBook with the stock 256 MB of RAM (which was always too little, I know). What kind of performance boost can I expect if I max out the RAM to 1.5 GB or whatever the maximum is on this model? I'm running Tiger on it and most of my work is simple word processing and web surfing.

    Worth it?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #2
    I would expect application load times and switching between apps to become much quicker and more responsive.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    #3
    256MB is barely enough to boot the OS. If you upgrade, you'll be introduced to the wonderful world of multitasking. Being able to run the OS AND a program or two is a wonderful thing.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    PowerGamerX

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #4
    I know! OS 9 has so many cool features.

    (I know he's running Tiger haha, just poking fun at the aging of PowerPC machines)
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  6. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #6
    +123456789 lol

    You will get increased performance as your page file must be huge. All that swapping back and forth to the hard drive really slows things down. It's 2010, we should all have at least 8GB of memory :p

    The max that yours can take is 1.25gb or 1gb of PC2700 333mhz memory. You can also use PC3200 400mhz memory too. This is DDR memory and not DDR2 or DDR3.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Valencia, SPAIN
    #7
    I upgraded the same model from 768Mb to 1,25Gb RAM (maximum it can handle) and the computer works much smoother and slightly faster. 768Mb was enough with Tiger, but when upgrading to Leopard I could clearly feel more RAM was needed.
     

Share This Page