iBook in Haiti

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by lanray, Mar 25, 2005.

1. lanray macrumors regular

I just got back from an 11 week trip in Haiti. I'm a 4th year medical student, and I worked at a birthing center for much of the time. One of my jobs was to write the protocol for HIV and TB testing and treatment. All of my work was done on my iBook, and that thing is a champ! Despite heat, humidity (rain on one occasion), dirty electricity (the power fluctuates and blacks out often), hard use by many users, I had no problems. And, the thing just took a beating. The roads are awful, and I'd just put my 'book in my backpack and tool around on a motorbike, bouncing like on a trampoline. People where I stayed used it to surf the web, and no viruses (viri?) and no pop-ups even though they weren't very responsible about website choices. I was just waiting to open it one day and get a blank screen, but this was not to happen. The keyboard is really dirty under the keys, but that's about it.

Amazing.

Anyone else have a similar story?

2. mcadam macrumors 6502a

mcadam

Wow - sounds like a very exiting trip. Haiti seems to be a quite rough place these days (years). Glad to hear that your iBook and you have been doing some meaningfull work to make things just a little better.