Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Matt01792

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 20, 2003
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

This is my first post on this forum and I'd just like some advice about the iBook.

First of all, I'm thinking of buying an iBook around Christmas/New Year and so am wondering when the updates are expected to take place. Would it be worth waiting for upgrades before I bought them? And how long would I be likely to wait?

Secondly, is it any good? I'm a student, and a 14-year-old one at that and so can't afford any nice powerbooks but only the lowest spec iBook (currently 800mhz G3). I would be using Macromedia aps (Dreamweaver etc.) on there and probably Photoshop, is the iBook fast enough to use these applications well?

I know I will need to upgrade the RAM, but I may not be able to afford it at the time I buy my iBook so how easy is it to install it yourself?

And one last general question, if I put an Airport card into my iBook (that I don't have yet :rolleyes:) and connected it to a WINDOWS wireless network (yep, I have never owned a Mac before :() would I be able to access the internet that's being shared on a Windows PC?

Sorry for all the questions, but I really need help because I've looked on the net and couldn't find anything comprehensible that helped me, I'd appreciate your help if someone could be bothered to reply to me.

Matt

zeebee

macrumors newbie
Aug 20, 2003
Assuming your existing Windows network is using a 802.11b or 802.11.g compatible WAP (access point), then use you can connect using the appropriate Airport or Airport Extreme card.

dswoodley

macrumors 6502a
Jul 18, 2002