iBook+iTunes+Rapidly decreasing disk space

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by jhomayne, Feb 1, 2005.

1. jhomayne macrumors regular

OK. So I got my 12" iBook in July for University and since then I've done a very good job of filling it up with music.

Now my itunes library is 19.12gb, not much to some, but quite a lot when the hard disk is only 60gb.

I'm guessing that my only option is to get an external drive, so I was wondering if anyone could give me any recommendations?

I'm an impoverished student so cost would be the main thing. Portability is not really an issue as I have my shiny new iPod shuffle to tide me over if i'm away from my iBook.

Does anyone have any experience with using an external drive for their music with success? I don't want horror stories! :rolleyes:

cheers for any help. :)

2. gallivant macrumors member

I'm using a Maxtor 80 gig drive right now with my Dell (saving up for a PowerBook, don't lynch me!) - works perfectly fine. When I do get my PB, I'll just plug in the drive, point iTunes at its Music folder, and rock out.

3. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

Mitthrawnuruodo

I got the same problem, 60 GB disk on my iBook and an iTunes library which has grown to 32,09 GB... however, I have tried solving it in a slightly different way: By throwing out everything I don't really need, and turning off File Vault (which ate like 3 to 4 GB :eek: of the capacity...)

I guess you should have no problem moving the library to an external drive and changing default location of the iTunes library to that disk in iTunes preferences. You will get a problem when that disk is off/unplugged (and could mess things up if trying to import anything without that disk - at least if you, like me, has checked the option that tells iTunes to keep all things organized...)