Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bigpumbaa

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 25, 2004
So I've got 512mb on my Window machine, and it runs great for what I do with it. When I get an iBook, does it make sense that 512mb (in total) will be enough as well? For me its not a matter of "buy as much as you can afford", its a matter of being thrifty without sacrificing speed. iBook uses would probably be limited to iLife apps, word processing, and wireless internet. No heavy photo or video editing. What do you guys think?

sotied

macrumors regular
Apr 12, 2003
Boston
Fill it up

I've got a Dual 867 tower and an iBook 1.2GB. I find that having more ram will never hurt you and will often help.

While I write for a living and planned not to use my 'book for anything more than Word and some surfing, I'm now using it to do some P-shop work, check my email, play poker online, keep iChat active and play with iMovie and its bretheren.

SO, I'm glad I maxxed out the Ram in the 'book and I suspect for the short money, you will be too.

Jeff

alywa

macrumors 6502
May 6, 2004
RE iBook RAM

My wife has a 12" iBook, 1Ghz. It comes stock with 256MB, with 1 DIMM for expansion.

She basically uses the iBook for photo viewing, word-processing, iTunes, and internet. 256MB was usable, but I added an extra 512MB. My reasoning was as follows:

The iBook only has one expansion slot. While 512MB total would probably have been fine, it wasn't too much more expensive to buy the extra 512 instead of the 256. Plus, I would have hated to get into a situation where I had to ditch a 256MB stick for a larger one.

Your iLife needs, if you use Garage Band or iMovie, will certainly be better suited with at least 768MB of RAM.

-alywa

Colonel Panik

macrumors regular
Feb 23, 2004
Dublin, Ireland