Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

michaelrjohnson

macrumors 68020
Aug 9, 2000
First of all, which iBook? It would have to be a tray loading one (i.e. G3). If you have a slot-loading G4, you would have to cut open the case. *Not* reccomended.

Why do you need to upgrade your optical drive? It is not intended to be upgraded. I would not be so sure that they would work at all.

Mord

macrumors G4
Original poster
Aug 24, 2003
UK
i'm an apple tech and i am pretty certain that these work so i am just looking for comfermation from someone that may have done it

maby i should have posted this on applefriter

i have a 600MHz g3 ibook 16MB vram.

these drives should work natively as apple uses them and even if they dont you can use patchburn

my cube is not intended to have a radeon 7500 and a dual prosessor but it dose.

michaelrjohnson

macrumors 68020
Aug 9, 2000
Well, it would seem as though you know what you are doing. Anyhow, I havent' heard of a successful replacement from anyone here.

Please let us know how this turns out, and post some pictures of the process! Thank you, and good luck.

Mord

macrumors G4
Original poster
Aug 24, 2003
UK
there was a report on xclr8urmac but i can no longer find it

Finiksa

macrumors 6502a
Feb 23, 2003
Australia
I've read a couple of reports from people doing this with an iBook. The laptop drives are essentially a standard form factor so you shouldn't have any problems getting it to fit. They main problem would be the bezel, I think the only option is pull it off the current drive and glue it on the new one.

Of course then you've got the problem that the drive might not have native burn/boot support.

Mord

macrumors G4
Original poster
Aug 24, 2003
UK
i know that apple uses those drives so it should be fine (and if not i can use patch burn)

slowtreme

macrumors 6502
May 27, 2003
Tampa FL
I installed a combo drive into my iBook 600 that came with CDROM.