Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ITASOR

macrumors 601
Original poster
Mar 20, 2005
This is not just another iBook vs. Powerbook thread. Well it kind of is...:D

I am thinking about finally getting a Mac laptop, and I have enough money for either: 12" iBook, 14" iBook, 12" PB Combo, 12" PB SD, 15" PB Combo, 15" PB SD.

I already know that 12" is for me, so that narrows it down to either: 12" iBook, 12" PB Combo, 12" PB SD.

I have a nice superdrive in my Quicksilver and a faster one in my grandpa's G5. I do not need, or want, a super drive in my laptop. That again narrows down my choices to a 12" iBook or 12" PB Combo. I am a student, so the powerbook's price would be the EDU price. The iBook would only be $50 less with EDU discount.

Now..I want to know your opinions on what to get. But first read this:

-I don't care about price, don't say, "The iBook is cheaper so you'll have money left over."
-I don't care about looks, yes I know some think the PB looks nicer.
-I don't care about how long they will last (being able to run the latest software wise). I switch every 2 years anyway.
-I don't care about HD storage, DVI port, or most other PB exclusive features like higher VRAM, etc.

I am debating which material I like better. I like the aluminum, but I don't like the "pitting" and I will NEVER use palm screen protectors on my computer, never. I heard that the aluminum dents, while the iBook gets pressure cracks. Not sure which is better there...

What are your opinions?

SpaceMagic

macrumors 68000
Oct 26, 2003
Cardiff, Wales
My Friend's AlBook has no pits and its 2 years old. However, i have seen pits on some.

I think I prefer the iBooks personally though. They feel stronger.

tsk

macrumors 6502a
Jan 14, 2004
Wisconsin
ITASOR said: