iBook or Powerbook?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by fuge, Feb 19, 2002.

1. fuge macrumors member

Should I buy a powerbook or an iBook? I've gone through the comparisons. Could any of you that own either/both or have struggled with this same question please respond.

Also, why did you choose what you're using?

<fuge>

gear:
    900mhz PC - NO Mac yet but desire a laptop and the new iMac.

2. krossfyter macrumors 601

krossfyter

well it really depends on what you are going to use it for ...im sure you heard this already. ive just purchased a powerbook because im going to need the extra processor speed and the 133mhz bus speed that comes in the 667 model..for my print media and video projects..as i am a graphic artist. if you are just someone who wants it for everday/consumer oriented things and then some well... the iBook is just fine....however if you prefer the the extra umph then its the powerbook.

its really up to you and what you can afford. if you can afford 2200 to 3000 then i would go for the powerbook ( actually you can get some as low as 1700) for sure.... do it baby!

im sure others on this board can provide you with better help...but im tried. hope you get your needs met and then some.

3. fuge thread starter macrumors member

thanks

Thanks for your input.

I've appreciated your comments in the other threads.;)

I'm definitely leaning to the powerbook because it's just plain awesome.

I'm wondering if there is anyone out there that can argue for the iBook instead of the powerbook.

Money is somewhat of a hindrance but I can save. I'm more concerned about people's experiences with either and whether they still love their laptop, pbook or ibook, objectively of course.
    ;)
    <fuge>:D

4. Vilacr macrumors regular