iBook? (playing Call of Duty)

Discussion in 'Games' started by rye9, Sep 20, 2005.

  1. rye9 macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #1
    Would a new 12 in iBook 1.33 Ghz be good to play Call of Duty on? Does anyone else on these forums do this? Also, does the ibook get very hot?
     
  2. Piarco macrumors 68030

    Piarco

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    Londinium
    #2
    Don't know about the heat, but to play it you'll need to be running it in 640x480 with low on everything. I tried playing with a 12" 1.5ghz PB (with a better GPU and double the memory) and I didn't like dropping the res that low with effects off - mind you I was coming from a very powerful gaming rig.

    I've since got a 15" PB with 128MB vram, and I can now play at native res with between medium-high on the effects & details.

    I'm afraid though the iBook would range from sucking to unplayable - depending on how you like your games to run. You may want to try MOH:AA as it works a lot better with lower specs...
     
  3. pgc6000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    #3
    I have to disagree. I ran it at lowest settings on an 800 MHz with 32 VRAM with 512 MB of RAM, and the only frame problems I had was on the heated Russian levels. I ran it on my iBook, (specs below), and it ran perfect. Besides, it looks actually pretty good on lowest settings (for something thats on lowest settings).
     
  4. rye9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #4
    Why would I have to run it on lowest settings?
     
  5. mojohanna macrumors 6502a

    mojohanna

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #5
    I have to disagree as well. While my PM was down and out for about a week last summer I had to resort to playing COD on my G4 450!!! With only 64M of video. Certainly not the same as my dulie, but I got my fix and could live with it.
     
  6. psycho bob macrumors 6502a

    psycho bob

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    #6
    I had a Rev A 17in PB and it ran COD fine at native res. You won't have any trouble getting the game to play and enjoying it on an iBook.
     
  7. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #7
    My Dual 533 MHz G4 with a Radeon 9600 and 1GB RAM was very playable on most missions at 800x600 - a couple of the slow russian missions coulkd get frustrating, but not so bad that I gave up.

    After upgrading my CPU to a 1.4GHz G4 and bumping the resolution to 1024x768 (as well as the graphic detail) the game runs very well, low to mid 30's fps on average, peaking in triple digits and rarely dropping into the 20's.

    My brother's 1.33GHz 12" Powerbook w/ a Go 5200 and 1.25GB RAM runs very well also.

    So your iBook should do OK. I recommend 1GB of RAM or more though.
     
  8. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #8
    Stalingrad kills some G5 performance so i wouldnt be worried about the lag in those levels
     
  9. Hydra macrumors regular

    Hydra

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    Runs really horrible on a 1.2GHz iBook with R9200, if the R9600 makes a big difference, then it might be ok but otherwise this kind of game requires steady and high fps numbers to be enjoyed in my opinion.

    Only thing which I'm surprised and glad is how enjoyable WoW still is on this computer.
     
  10. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #10
    Some people here think that the game is playable if it can run. However I consider is playable at with a res of at least 800x600, with 24fps or higher.
     
  11. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #11
    The new iBook should be able to meet that standard, even though I don't agree with it. ;)

    I used to play Halo on my Dual 533 and while it was at the limit of what I considered playable most of the levels were in the 20's at 640@480. But I'm not a gaming fiend so I don't have high standards.
     
  12. Catfish Jones macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    #12
    I played the game comfortably on my iBook G4 933 Mhz (14.1") The only upgrade being 1.1 GB of RAM. (I bought one of those "illegal" 1 Gig RAM sticks)
     
  13. rye9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #13
    What would adding RAM do? Just make it fater, how?
     
  14. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #14
    the more ram you install the less it has to use the vm=vertual memory. vm uses the hdd and is very slow so more ram it wont use the vm much. vm being used ingame will cause it to pause ,hiccup,studder and be very frustrating
     
  15. Catfish Jones macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    #15
    And to finish Max's train of thought... buy the most RAM you can fit into your computer. (if you can afford it)

    Upgrading the RAM in your computer is the easiest/cheapest upgrade you can do to your computer. The cost to performance ratio will leave you giddy for weeks.
     
  16. pgc6000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    #16
    Yeah, RAMs a big chunk of good performance. Runs fine with 640 MB at 640 X 480 resolution.
     
  17. rccola70 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #17
    depends what you're playing..if its Single Player..you'll need to have it at 800x600 or below, low settings..if its multiplayer, i have it on 1024x768 and it runs fine, settings on normal/medium..
     
  18. Piarco macrumors 68030

    Piarco

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    Londinium
    #18
    Now that I agree with - and even up it to a minimum of 1024x768. I came from a big PC gaming rig, and hate to play at anything lower - in fact I won't play a game at anything less.

    Its all down to personal opinion on what you consider playable or not.
     

Share This Page