iBook & Powerbook, which would suit a college student more?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by CraigB, Jan 15, 2005.

1. CraigB macrumors member

I'm a complete Mac/Apple newbie, and just trying to get some information.

I'll be heading to a college this coming Summer/Fall, and plan to get an Apple portable. Problem is, I'm not sure whether to get an iBook or Powerbook. Basically, I'm looking for either a 14 inch iBook, or 15 inch Powerbook (you can see what monitor size I'm aiming at). I sure won't be running any games or high performance multimedia programs on the portable, so I'm leaning towards an iBook right now. With the 14 inch Super Drive model, I can put 1.256 GB of ram to it, and have it at roughly the same price as a Powerbook 15 inch Combo Drive model (with no additional ram -256 mb ) at around $2000 USD. Judging from these two models at the same price range, which one would get me more bang for the buck/and higher performance?

What are the main beneficial points with the Powerbook? Is there any noticable battery performance differences, and/or software differences? *What software is currently included (like actually explanation, I dunno what stuff like iLife or iwork are, and approx. battery life?*

And lastly, does anyone know if a newer iBook/Powerbook model with a new processor or additional (significant) features will be released within 6-8 months time? I don't want to purchase a model, just to have a new and improved version out a month or two later for exactly the same price.

2. yippy macrumors 68020

yippy

Be aware that the 14" iBook has the same screen resolution as a 12", meaning it will show the same amount of stuff, just magnified a little. The bigest thing that I can think of off hand that the PowerBook has over the iBook is the graphics card is much better and it can take more ram in the long run.