iBook Questions

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by ll cool jh, Apr 27, 2004.

1. ll cool jh macrumors newbie

Dec 27, 2003
    Well I will be heading off to college next year and I have been planning on getting a laptop. I had looked about apple's laptops a little before this round of updates and more or less ruled them out. Powerbooks looked awesome and had everything I could need and probably more but they were, and still are, expensive even with a student discount. I looked a little at the ibooks but basically dismissed them and kept looking at different pc notebooks. I am still not completely sold on an ibook yet as I have never used a mac before and buying a bunch of new software makes the price higher as well.

Is the 12" screen hard to adjust too? I've used a 15" crt for most of my time with a computer, 12 seems really small to me and I don't think I need all that portability.

Is the 14" iBook worth it? I'd like it more for its larger screen (I know the resolutions are the same) and I'm interested in getting it with a superdrive. However, if I go with the 14" and a superdrive, it is basically the same price as a 12" powerbook.

Can the apple superdrives burn to dvd-rom disc? As far as I'm aware the dvd-rom discs can hold more information, and since I won't have an external hd, it'd be nice to back-up on fewer dvds.

Is having a notebook that big of an advantage in college, like do you actually take it places? I'm worried that I won't take advantage of the portability and could have just bought say an iMac (assuming they get updated soon) with a larger screen and better specs.

Does having a mac in a pc world make college more difficult, like are there a lot of compatibility problems? I am not planning on going into a computer intensive major, and it seems like office x takes care of all the basics I'd need.

Can safari not open a decent portion of web pages?