iBook RAM

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by dmachine, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. macrumors member

    dmachine

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #1
    My girlfriend has an iBook G4 that she got in december of 2003 and has 640MB of RAM in it and it says that the maximum is 640MB. Would it harm the iBook if I put more RAM into it or would it just not recognize it?
     
  2. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    If it is an iBook G4 not a G3, then the machine is capable of 1.25 GB RAM with a 1 Gb module .

    If you are in the USA, I recommend Data Memory Systems

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com

    Edit- corrected model
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    drater

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    he said ibook, not imac....if you put in more it wouldn't be able to read it, don't waste your money. used to have a g4 800mhz and 640 is the highest it would go. check out www.crucial.com
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    I have a G3 powerbook (in sig) that says it's maximum is 256 in each slot, for a total of 512MB. I put in a 512MB+128MB for 640 and it all works. I think in fact I can have up to a GB :)
    Moral of story: a lot of limits were based on the biggest dimms available back then.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Yeah, like the Sawtooth G4s can only run a gig. I run 1.5 gigs, they just didn't have the 512s back them...
     
  6. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    Wrong. Crucial's spec is out of date.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #7
    According to Mactracker (a little app that has the history and specs of all Macs ever made) you can go up to 1.12 GB. Apple says only 640 MB, because when they came out the 1 GB dimms weren't available yet (at least not for a normal price).
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    dmachine

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #8
    Her iBook is the G4 800mhz. What type of RAM does this model take?
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Wait a sec, does that mean my g3 900 mhz laptop can go beyond the maximum thershold of 640 mb ram?

    I'm planning to buy ram now and getting a 512 mb ram module for grand total of 640 mb ram.

    Where can I buy a gig ram and would it work?
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    dmachine

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #10
    Thats what I want to do is get a 1GB stick for hers so she doesnt have any problems running Tiger.
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #11
    Unfortunately the G3 iBooks do have a maximum of 640 MB of Ram. It doesn't recognize the rest, or you have to replace the memory that is soldered onto the motherboard. Also, to my knowledge there isn't a 133 Mhz so-dimm that goes higher then 512 MB, is there?
     

Share This Page