ibook Sodimm Ram Installation help

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by chosenwolf, Feb 16, 2006.

  1. chosenwolf macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I'm going to do my own memory install which seems fairly easy. I will be following the ifixit guide. My question is, when I reach this step: http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/83.4.5.html

    Wiill I be seeing the main built in RAM chip or will the space be blank for me to pop in my secondary chip?
     
  2. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #2
    that slot will be empty unless you bought you ibook with a ram upgrade.
     
  3. Mr. Mister macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    #3
    I did this for my mom's iBook G3, make sure that the RAM is actually completely seated. I was absolutely sure it was seated, but then started it up and the new RAM wasn't reflected in system profiler, and I went back and realized that the thing had to be pushed another half millimeter before it locked.
     
  4. chosenwolf thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    Ok, I'm getting really frustated. I am using a #0 philips to try and unscrew the screws for the RAM protector casing but I could only get out 2 and it seems that the screws are not going. The other 2 are literally stuck inside. I don't want to strip them, any ideas?
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    Make SURE that the screwdriver is an exact fit for the screw. If it is not, stop now until you have another one that is correct. You need to press down FIRMLY on the screwdriver to prevent it from riding up and out of the screw and then turn it slowly and deliberately. If you strip the screws you're, well, screwed.
     
  6. chosenwolf thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    Too late, I think. I pressed down firmly but nothings bulging. I just went out and bought a #0 phillips. I think there's something seriously wrong with these screws. I'm going to try and use a mini flathead. If not, I'm pull this off with te screws still intact!!!
     
  7. toneloco2881 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #7
    Edited for redundancy....I type too slow!
     
  8. chosenwolf thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    Ok I managed to get the one I stripped out with a flathead, SOB why can't apple use regular philips # screws. 1 more to go!!
     
  9. chosenwolf thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    Cover is off!

    Quick question, is the RAM chip supposed to be snapped into piece (take a look at the gold edges) or does it just sit there. I pushed both pins back and put it in.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. chosenwolf thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
    Ok, I got it in finally. Logging in to make sure memory shows.
     
  11. chosenwolf thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #11
    New memory shows! Had 256mb (1.2ghz ibook), added 512mb chip, now have 768mb total. Wow, what a difference... Now I wish I had maxed it out =/
     
  12. jonat8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    I echo what you say about the screws. When I was upgrading my iBook's RAM, I had the right screwdriver but one screw on the memory panel wouldn't come out... I too had to strip it. It was really annoying.
     
  13. chosenwolf thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #13
    I was so frustrated with them. Right away I knew that I would have to work to get them out. Everythings cool now though! I noticed the slight lag I had while typing went away.
     
  14. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #14
    In general, the robots that assemble all types of equipment tend to overtighten the screws. When unscrewing any screws for the first time, you have to 'break' that bond..., you'll sometimes hear a 'crack' as it releases. So make it a habit to assume they will be stuck and REALLY bear down on the screw to turn it that first 1/16 turn. It's better to 'over do it' (subject to the stability of the device underneath, of course) than to be too gentle and strip the screw.
     
  15. chosenwolf thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #15
    Thanks for sharing. When I put them back I didn't tighten that much in case I want to upgrade once more.
     

Share This Page