iBook - when to buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by iCrispy, Jan 13, 2004.

1. iCrispy macrumors newbie

Jan 13, 2004
    I am a student preparing to go to uni in the autumn, and require a laptop. I have worked with a PC all my life, but since my brother bought a Powerbook G4 last September, i have been looking into Apple products.

I am looking to spend under £1000, so the 12" iBook is ideal coming in at £900 (with 60GB hard drive, and bluetooth module). The extra money would allow me to get a decent speaker system for my 20GB iPod + iBook.

I did look at PC laptops but hardly any low-price range laptops come with a firewire port (which i want for my iPod) and none match the performance of the iBook.

Obviously i would not be buying yet, as i am not due to go to uni for 9 months, but I was wondering what sort of updates we would see from Apple to the 12" iBook. I expect speed bump from the current 800MHz, but how much more do you think it will be? One of my friends (a Mac lover) doesn't expect them to reach 1GHz by October, yet my brother says otherwise. Could you clear this up for me? Thankyou
  2. ThomasJefferson macrumors 6502

Jul 17, 2002
    OK. Just for you, iCrispy, I pulled my Magic 8-Ball down from the bookshelf and got the following, completely inaccurate information, for your benefit.

Early/Mid 2004
    Powerbook G4 updates in late Jan. (This one is not rocket science)
    iBook updates late March. (12in at 933)

Mid 04
    A long, hot, angry, global-warming-like summer - of whining and gnashing of teeth - while people complain that they want a G5 Powerbook. I plan to go shoot pictures in Yellowstone National Park to avoid the "deplorable cultus". Alaska might not even be far enough away.

Late 04
    Powerbook G5's by late Sept/early Oct
    Apple will then release an iBook with a new form factor in lateOct/early Nov. (12in at 1GHz)

Thats my best guess.
  3. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

Sep 18, 2003