iBooks and Core Image

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rye9, Nov 5, 2005.

  1. rye9 macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #1
    Do iBooks support Core Image? If so, what are benefits? If not, what are disadvantages?
     
  2. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #2
    The newest rev (1.33Ghz 12" and 1.42Ghz 14") support Core Image.
    To my understanding, Core Image takes graphic processing load off the processor and leaves more processing power for you.
     
  3. rye9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #3
    How do u know this?
     
  4. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #4
    Among other things, it says the ATI 9550 is supported here.
     
  5. commonpeople macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    #5
    From my new 1.42 ibook Graphics/Displays info:

    ATI Mobility Radeon 9550:

    Chipset Model: ATY,M12
    Type: Display
    Bus: AGP
    VRAM (Total): 32 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x4e56
    Revision ID: 0x0080
    ROM Revision: 113-xxxxx-117
    Displays:
    Color LCD:
    Display Type: LCD
    Resolution: 1024 x 768
    Depth: 32-bit Color
    Built-In: Yes
    Core Image: Supported
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Quartz Extreme: Supported
    Display:
    Status: No display connected
     
  6. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #6
    The Mobility 9700 is "M11"... weird.

    Anyone know why Apple disabled, yet again, Quartz 2D Extreme in 10.4.3?
     
  7. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    They do. If it wouldn't have the capabilities, really, the only difference that you will find noticeable is in Dashboard. Other than that... idunno. :eek:
     
  8. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #8
    CoreImage greatly increases GUI performance, cuz not only cpu (and AltiVec) aminates GUI, but also GPU, which are very powerful for such things
     
  9. alex_ant macrumors 68020

    alex_ant

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Location:
    All up in your bidness
    #9
    Core Image isn't even used at all at the moment except for the Dashboard ripple effect. In other words, it doesn't do a damn thing for you unless an app is specifically coded to take advantage of it, which none are at the moment. Quartz Extreme is what handles the GPU graphics offloading, and any Mac from the past 3 1/2 years supports that.
     
  10. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #10
    It's not used in the OS. Tiger doesn't use Quartz 2D Extreme - at least that's what the Apple Update talked about.
     
  11. mdavey macrumors 6502a

    mdavey

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    #11
    Quartz 2D Extreme has never been a supported feature of Tiger. It appears that Apple is refactoring their graphics (and perhaps GPU) code behind the scenes (the system interfaces used by developers are unchanged) and a side-effect of this is that the experimental Quartz 2D Extreme stuff in Tiger is currently causing the Mac kernel to panic (typically within a few minutes of Quartz 2D Extreme being turned on). Expect 10.4.4 or Leopard to offer significant graphics performance improvements over Tiger 10.4.3.

    http://www.macosrumors.com/20051102A.php has some speculation on this.
     
  12. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #12
    A lot of the Pro apps use Core Image....Motion, Aperture, and I think that Photobooth does use it to for the filters;)
     
  13. SpaceMagic macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #13
    Nah, photoshop doesn't use CoreImage for the filters, although it would greatly benefit if it did. The problem is, CoreImage is not OS independent so it would require Adobe to rewrite just for the Mac.
     
  14. cube macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #14
    CoreImage does not accelerate the GUI. It accelerates image processing. GUI acceleration is done by Quartz Extreme.
     
  15. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #15
    I did not say Photoshop did.....:confused:
     
  16. rye9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #16
    True, but the iBook has ATI MOBILITY Radeon 9550, so now im not sure if it really is supported.
     
  17. hyperpasta macrumors 6502a

    hyperpasta

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #17
    lol

    hehe... I made the same mistake when I read it. PhotoBooth. Yes, that's certainly true.

    EDIT: Also, I'll bet that Leopard has more uses for it
     
  18. Xeem macrumors 6502a

    Xeem

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #18
    Everyone agrees that it is supported, and commonpeople even posted the system profiler section stating that Core Image is supported on his iBook, and you still don't believe it? If you search the forums, you will find many people stating that Core Image is supported by the latest iBooks. I have a new iBook, and it has the ripple effect. System profiler says Core Image is supported. Apple's list of supported cards on the Core Image site is not complete; my dad's Powerbook has a Mobility 9600 that supports Core Image even though it isn't on the list.
     
  19. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #19
    Here's a screenshot, it is supported. I was afraid of getting an iBook because I thought it wasn't supported. When I took it home and looked at the System Profiler I was amazed that it was.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. rye9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #20
    Thank you so much slookster! I have no worries about this anymore and I cant wait to get the same model iBook that you have! (the 12 inch)
     
  21. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #21
    You'll love it, its so small, sleek, and just built right. Widgets are fast, like they are on a G5, the Doom 3 demo, you can play. It averages out, on mine when I didn't install MySQL & 10.4.3 (had 10.4.2, everything closed), about 30FPS (sometimes (enemies) would make it go to 6 FPS) while looking at a closed area it would be up to 60FPS). Now I don't suggest going out and buying Doom 3, I'd rather have someone test that out see how it runs through the entire game before I'd go and purchase it.

    One thing I'm going to mention is I have about 13GB of HDD left (out of 37.14GB Total (40GB * 1000 * 1000 * 1000 / 1024 / 1024 / 1024 = Actual GB). So if you need more space, get an external FW or USB Hard drive or enclosure then buy a hard drive for the enclosure. I have a 30GB upstairs that I should go get, I've download 1.4GB, my Niece's DVD (from iMovie HD) just pictures is taking up about 3.7GB. .... Here's my home folder size, how about that? 7.56GB OMG!
     
  22. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #22
    Because I have one? LOL. :)

    Go for it, they're such awesome computers. I wouldn't think about trading it for ANYTHING. :)
     
  23. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #23
    My dad kepts asking me: "Now you're not going to trade this are you?" of course I said no cause I'm not going to. The reason being is after I bought my PB G3 233MHz Wallstreet 2MB VRAM, 288MB RAM, 20GB HDD from.... someone on this Forum, can't remember who, I sold it like in 2 or 3 months for the price I bought it for. The reason being the Sleep issue (no backlight when woke up from sleep) in Jaguar. Plus I wanted Exposé (OPT+e makes a yellow maker then press e without OPT held = é), but I did purchase the original Jaguar Discs... ok so it was from an eMac - eMac Jaguar discs from http://www.macsales.com/ after that I purchased an iMac G3 333MHz 6GB HDD, 288MB HDD, 4MB RAM from MacAztec (very good buyer, he fixed the CDROM Drive (took it from another iMac) cause it wouldn't work originally). I still have that iMac G3. Next I bought an iBook G3 500MHz, 20GB HDD, 320MB RAM, 8MB VRAM and loved it. Gave it to my sister. Now I have this beautiful machine.

    My dad bought me this machine along with AppleCare for it. Want a screenshot of the entire thing? [​IMG]
     
  24. rye9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #24
    "The video card is the ATI Mobility Radeon 9550 (4x AGP) with 32 MB of vRAM, not sufficient to run some Core Image effects such as the Ripple." I got this quote from the Mac Guides on this site. I do believe you guys that the iBooks do have the Ripple but why is there so much talk that iBooks do not support the Ripple?
     
  25. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #25
    That one little word MOBILITY sends everyone into a Panic. I'll contact Mr. Anderson, or another one of the administrators to edit that guide. I do the ripple effect sooooooo much on this iBook.

    http://guides.macrumors.com/Core_Image this one says it's supported

    I edited the guide, cause it is supported fully.
     

Share This Page