iCal won't launch

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by shakespeare, Sep 10, 2002.

  1. shakespeare macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Location:
    Portland, Maine
    #1
    Hey all,

    I just downloaded and installed iCal, but every time I try to open it, I get a message after a few seconds that says it has 'unexpectedly quit'.

    A month or so ago I received the MWNY version of iCal and installed that. It ran well for a while (a few weeks) when it, too, suddenly started 'unexpectedly quitting'.

    Is there nothing I can do to make this work short of a full reinstall of my system software? I am rather disinclined to do that.
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    I've just downloaded it and installed, works fine for me....sorry.
     
  3. HKHK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    #3
    Me Too

    I keep getting the unexpectedly quit message as well. I downloaded three times to ensure there was no problem. Please help!
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    Sorry to ask a silly question...but you guys are using 10.2 right?
     
  5. shakespeare thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Location:
    Portland, Maine
    #5
    I thought this might help you guys figure it out. I don't have the first idea what this information means, but perhaps you do. It's the iCal crash log file.

    Date/Time: 2002-09-10 09:06:28 -0400
    OS Version: 10.2 (Build 6C115)
    Host: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Command: iCal
    PID: 421

    Exception: EXC_BREAKPOINT (0x0006)
    Code[0]: 0x00000001Code[1]: 0x90844988

    Thread 0 Crashed:
    #0 0x90844988 in _NSRaiseError
    #1 0x90844810 in +[NSException raise:format:]
    #2 0x907e50b8 in -[NSCFDictionary setObject:forKey:]
    #3 0x0008e7c4 in 0x8e7c4
    #4 0x931603cc in -[NSCustomImageRep draw]
    #5 0x931c7eec in -[NSImageRep drawAtPoint:]
    #6 0x931c0174 in -[NSImage drawRepresentation:inRect:]
    #7 0x931c026c in -[NSImage _drawRepresentation:]
    #8 0x931c0448 in -[NSImage _cacheRepresentation:stayFocused:]
    #9 0x931c0364 in -[NSImage _cacheRepresentation:]
    #10 0x931c5534 in -[NSImage _composite:delta:fromRect:toPoint:]
    #11 0x931c43d0 in -[NSImage compositeToPoint:fromRect:eek:peration:]
    #12 0x931c4294 in -[NSImage compositeToPoint:eek:peration:]
    #13 0x930cecd0 in -[NSApplication _setApplicationIconImage:setDockImage:]
    #14 0x0008eb94 in 0x8eb94
    #15 0x9081d348 in -[NSSet makeObjectsPerformSelector:]
    #16 0x931b9740 in -[NSIBObjectData nibInstantiateWithOwner:topLevelObjects:]
    #17 0x93238104 in old_loadNib
    #18 0x93237cf4 in +[NSBundle(NSNibLoading) _loadNibFile:nameTable:withZone:eek:wnerBundle:]
    #19 0x93237de8 in +[NSBundle(NSNibLoading) loadNibFile:externalNameTable:withZone:]
    #20 0x932377f4 in +[NSBundle(NSNibLoading) loadNibNamed:eek:wner:]
    #21 0x930d253c in NSApplicationMain
    #22 0x00004a58 in 0x4a58
    #23 0x000048d8 in 0x48d8

    Thread 1:
    #0 0x90074328 in mach_msg_trap
    #1 0x90006670 in mach_msg
    #2 0xc00076a4 in __ape_internal
    #3 0xc0000e08 in __ape_agent
    #4 0x90021428 in _pthread_body

    PPC Thread State:
    srr0: 0x90844988 srr1: 0x0202f030 vrsave: 0x00000000
    xer: 0x20000000 lr: 0x90844964 ctr: 0x907e4270 mq: 0x00000000
    r0: 0x00000000 r1: 0xbffff2e0 r2: 0x22004247 r3: 0xa07ed3b8
    r4: 0x9068d51c r5: 0x00000000 r6: 0x90015040 r7: 0x20000000
    r8: 0x00110010 r9: 0xa07e0294 r10: 0x00000003 r11: 0x00000000
    r12: 0x22004247 r13: 0x000b0000 r14: 0xa07ee858 r15: 0x000c0000
    r16: 0x001c69c0 r17: 0x000b0000 r18: 0x000c0000 r19: 0x000c0000
    r20: 0x000c0000 r21: 0x000c0000 r22: 0x42700000 r23: 0x000c0000
    r24: 0x000b0000 r25: 0x000c0000 r26: 0x015bf2c0 r27: 0x00000000
    r28: 0x906d3918 r29: 0x015c0be0 r30: 0xa3086edc r31: 0x908448a8
     
  6. HKHK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    #6
    Definitely OS X 10.2

    I picked up Jaguar within an hour of it arriving from Singapore.
     
  7. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    Oh yes, it's so obvious now, why it's the....:confused:
     
  8. Janger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    #8
    Same happens to me on a TiBook 550, 10.2. Seems to be less than half-baked. I experience this with help viewer too. Could not start it since upgrading to Jaguar.

    I am anxiously waiting for 10.2.1. I guess that's all we can do.
     
  9. shakespeare thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Location:
    Portland, Maine
  10. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #10
    This might have absolutely nothing to do with it.. but did you guys try to repair the permissions? Just boot to the Jaguar install CD, go to Disk Utility, then repair permissions. I dunno, but that's the only out-of-the-way thing I have done.. and iCal is working perfectly.




    irmongoose
     
  11. evildead macrumors 65816

    evildead

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Location:
    WestCost, USA
    #11
    hmmm

    I installed it on my Mac with no problems...

    Do you have a lot of other crap on your mac? How about beta software? Did you remove the beta version of iCal, then reboot, then install? I have seen things like this... like when netscape 7.0 came out I trashed 6.0, installed 7.0 and when I started up 7.0... 6.0 came up and crashed. I removed 7.0, rebooted, intalled 7.0 and it worked fine. Maybe it is still trying to open the old version of iCal... and it confics with the new version or its loading the libs and preffs from the beta for the new version.


    -evildead
     
  12. shakespeare thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Location:
    Portland, Maine
    #12
    No, sadly, fixing the permissions didn't do the trick.

    No, I don't have a lot of extra stuff on my Mac. I don't think it's trying to load the old libraries and such because the problem started while I was still using the beta.

    Do you imagine 10.2.1 will fix it when it comes out? Or should I just do a reinstall?

    GAAAAAAA

    It feels like there must just be one file missing, or corrupted, that if I got rid of, it would work - any ideas on where to look? Removing the preference files did nothing.

    Any other ideas?
     
  13. e-coli macrumors 68000

    e-coli

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    #13
    I have a TiBook 500, no problems. None with help viewer, either.

    I think you might have a hardware problem??? Or do a clean install of Jaguar, not an upgrade??? Other than that...the problem seems strange.
     
  14. e-coli macrumors 68000

    e-coli

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    #14
    More than likely, that's your problem. (sorry, I didn't see that before).

    Junk the app and the all the associated .plist files (in Lbrary --> Prefs). Also del the folder Library --> Caches --> com.apple.iCal

    then restart (to be safe) and reinstall iCal.

    Maybe this will do the trick.
     
  15. Janger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    #15
    Solution!

    Hi guys,

    got this from another thread I am on:

    From MacFixit:

    "Turns out the dreaded HelveticaNeue.dfont must be present in the library/fonts folder; many users have removed that to prevent conflicts with their own postscript version of Helvetica Neue, but it seems iCal requires the .dfont in order to launch. Sure enough, when I put it back where it came from, iCal ran perfectly."

    Worked for me! Thanks to MacFixit and MarkN!
     
  16. 3777 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    #16
    what the

    I keep hearing people tell other people to do this........ all you are doing is resetting permissions for programs, and if you've set full access for certain users to do certain things, they will all be set to default? I don't understand why anyone needs to do this at all?:confused: It does nothing:confused:
     
  17. shakespeare thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Location:
    Portland, Maine
    #17
    Plain and simple. The Helvetica Neue font did it.

    Thanks, men!
     
  18. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #18
    :) love how people immediatly say things like 'osx is halfbaked' when they run into a problem, but when you find out whats wrong... problem is the user did something stupid.

    not trying to attack anyone, but f you have problems with your machine first make sure it isnt the result of any of the 'tinkering' you did to the system. (or dont tinker)
     
  19. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #19
    well i think most users enjoy the right to tinker... the problem is that people who've used Macs for years don't have a clue how X works, unless they've used unix systems before...

    i, for one, would think that disabling fonts shouldn't affect software in such a way :)

    pnw
     
  20. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #20
    if an app needs a font that makes sense.

    im not saying dont tinker. im saying dont tinker, screw things up, and then claim the os is bad. the os is fine, your tinker is bad. if you are smart enough to feel you can tinker with osx, then you should be smart enough to fix it. if you are going to do something you think you might not be able to fix then dont do it. its just common sense stuff but it seems to be beyond some people.
     
  21. shakespeare thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Location:
    Portland, Maine
    #21
    Well, I don't tinker with things in the System folder, because I know perfectly well that I could never fix them alone. Helvetica Neue was not one of the fonts in the System folder, it was in the Library folder, which made me think I could edit it. If the system really needed it, it ought to have been in the System folder. That's why it didn't occur to me it was a font.

    And I never bashed OS X. It's the finest operating system I've ever seen, and it only gets better.

    Although I must say - Windows programs tend to tell you if a font they require is missing instead of 'unexpectedly quitting'. Perhaps our company could learn something there.
     
  22. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #22
    Re: what the

    actually it does do something. read this

    the problem is that there is an error with the installer so when you install jag it doesnt get the permissions correct. repairing them will speed things up, and for some people it seems to fix some weird bugs they were having.
     
  23. idkew macrumors 68020

    idkew

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Location:
    where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    #23
    i need helvitica

    can someone please email me the helvetica.dfont to me. I trashed it and did not back it up. my email address is bnau@mac.com.

    very much thanks.
     
  24. metatagmaniac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Location:
    St. Augustine, FL
    #24
    i also deleted the font. Actually i just installed JAguar today and then downloaded ical and updated the system software. then i restarted and tried to run it and it did not run. I dont think that font came with my system. I looked all over the new and cannot find it. can someone also send that font to me. I greatly need it


    nchand@aug.com
    metatagmaniac@mac.com
    :eek:
     

Share This Page