iChat AV FPS

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bpd115, Apr 24, 2005.

  1. bpd115 macrumors 6502a

    bpd115

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #1
    iChat in Panther gave you 30 FPS if you had (I think) over a 1 ghz G4 (or dual 800)...

    With Tiger I'm getting 15 FPS now with G4 users and only 30 FPS with G5s...

    anyone else want to try it out?
     
  2. thrillz3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    #2
    Don't have Tiger or an iSight (yet, I'm hoping to get one very soon, Tiger order is being processed), but what's new in iChat other than the audio and video stuff? I remember a while back something about the buddy list changing. Is it the way it's supposed to be now, with the groups and the user in a sub group, with flippy-triangles or something? (Akin to Adium or AIM or any other chat program out there?) Can you post a screen shot or something? But that would take work blurring screen name's out...
     
  3. bpd115 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bpd115

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #3
    doesnt' really look different....you always had the option to use shapes for status.

    Finally has AIM profile support and adds Jabber...

    Video chat looks the same to me so far....only tested it with another person who had 2 Mbps/384 kbps and I have 3 Mbps/384 Kbps...the frame rate annoys me as previously we had 30 fps now it's 15.
     
  4. Phat_Pat macrumors 68000

    Phat_Pat

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Location:
    I Live Where I Live
    #4
    Does the person ur doing it with have tiger too?
     
  5. bpd115 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bpd115

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    Yes...I Tested it on my home network too...Tiger to Panther AV from my G5 to an iMac G5 was 30 FPS...to an iMac 1.25 G4 running Tiger 15 FPS...the person over the internet has Tiger and a 1.42 Mini. We used to get 30 FPS, now it's 15..bitrate jumps around from 70s to 180s...

    [​IMG]
     
  6. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #6
    h.264 takes a lot more processing power, so you get a lower framerate with a g4
     
  7. bpd115 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bpd115

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #7
    Wish Apple would have said that. The old iChat page had a FPS and CPU chart..now it's only a hosting chart.

    I'll have to try it out with other users however my first impression wasn't anything near the h.264 - h.263 comparison on Apple's website...at this point I'd rather h.263 at 30 FPS than h.264 at 15.

    Hopefully it will improve.
     
  8. manu_paris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #8
    I have only 15 fps with my imac and a friend on G4 tiger.
    When i swap to my external hd panther Os we have a 30 FPS video..
    When my friend chatted with a friend of his on tiger G4 (both) one had 30 and the other 15..
    That is soooo weird... :eek:
     

Share This Page