Ichat digital cameras

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by IDANNY, Feb 13, 2004.

  1. IDANNY macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #1
    Can I use a pentex OPTIO S. TO video chat with Ichat.
     
  2. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #2
    no, you need a VIDEO camera, that is a STILL camera. But nice try though. Good luck next time.
     
  3. flyfish29 macrumors 68020

    flyfish29

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    New HAMpshire
    #3
    I am lost...to do iChat you simply need a camera...I have hooked up a Canon DV camera and used iChat using it. This particular DV camera didn't take any still images at all, just a plain camcorder!:confused:
     
  4. IDANNY thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
  5. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #6
    i dont see why you're confused, you hooked up a video camera,
    the previous poster said you need a video camera
    the first poster's camera was a still camera

    the previous poster said the first poster needed a video camera, not a camera that took stills.
     
  6. IDANNY thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
  7. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #8
    yeah but it is a still camera, what you need is a video camera; its clip ability doesnt give it the ability to broadcast like a webcam
     
  8. MacRAND macrumors 6502a

    MacRAND

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ USA
    #10
    ChatAV webcam: iSight or a DV camcorder w/FireWire

    iDANNY, does your Pentax have a FireWire port? :confused:
    If not, Video signal cannot be supplied to your Mac. :mad: No, USB won't work.
    Does your Pentax have a built-in microphone?
    If not, Audio signal cannot be acquired. :(

    Yes, you can use pretty much any DV Camcorder with a FireWire (iLink) connector and cable. :)

    Or, you can buy the best Automatic focus/ light sensing, dual Microphone with background noise filtering, with special Mac mounts -- WebCam money can buy for only $149 (or, less for EDU if you're a student).:cool:
    Get an iSight!


    Otherwise, buy a $499 Canon DV CamCorder with built-in stereo microphone, and FireWire port (special Apple FW cable is $29 extra) and have the best of both worlds (video camera MiniDV tape recorder & a webcam)
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page