iChat HELP

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by walkingmac, Jun 21, 2004.

  1. walkingmac macrumors 6502

    walkingmac

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Location:
    Greater Cincinnati
    #1
    ok... not sure what happened. I wasn't doing anything that would have cause such a sudden or random problem.

    Now when I use iChat (AV on 10.3.4) I can't see anything that I type. nor can I get any responses. When I log in using AIM everything is fine. If I keep trying to connect with iChat, I get an error message that the person could not be contacted.

    HELP
     
  2. Thirteenva macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #2
    Have you tried the standard troubleshooting procedures such as repairing permissions with disk utility or deleting the iChat preference files.
     
  3. walkingmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    walkingmac

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Location:
    Greater Cincinnati
    #3
    I have tried deleting prefs, will try repair permissions.
     
  4. Espnetboy3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    #4
    if that doesnt work just try to reinstall ichats.
     
  5. walkingmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    walkingmac

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Location:
    Greater Cincinnati
    #5
    running repair again, but here is the message I get when I leave it trying to type/connect.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. walkingmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    walkingmac

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Location:
    Greater Cincinnati
    #6
    O please tell how... have been trying to figure that out.
     
  7. walkingmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    walkingmac

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Location:
    Greater Cincinnati
    #7
    i have repaired twice and a restart.... still no good

    Please help!!!
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Try dragging the iChat icon somewhere other than where it is now, and then run software update. If it doesn't automatically offer to download iChat again, get it from here:

    http://www.apple.com/ichat/download/

    And then install it in the proper place and if it solves the problem, delete the original copy.
     
  9. walkingmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    walkingmac

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Location:
    Greater Cincinnati
    #9
    YAY!!!

    IT WORKED

    what I had to do (incase someone else needs hope with this in the future)...
    1) copy iChat.app to another location and delete original.
    2) ran Software update (nothing registered)
    3) download iChat AV from Apple (wouldn't let me do anything first go)
    4) copy the copy iChat.app back to Applications folder
    5) ran Software Update (still nothing)
    6) ran iChat AV and this time it ran.
    Restart and worked!

    I am assuming that some core file got corrupted. So... there it is.
    Thanx all for your help.
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    SW update was just to try to get it to automatically d/l iChat again, nothing more. But glad it worked, at least with some convolutedness. ;)
     

Share This Page