iChat not letting me add new people

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by brynismyname, May 20, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    #1
    iChat has recently started not letting me add new buddies. It comes back with an error:

    AIM Error
    Could not add <buddyname> to your buddy list. (Feedbag error 10)

    I'm able to add people through opening up the AIM program, but not directly through iChat. I tried re-installing it, but it didn't make any difference. Please help!
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Have you tried searching Apple's discussion forums or knowledge base for that error message?

    That's where I'd start.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    #3
    Okay, I looked on there. Lots of people seem to have had problems with Feedbag error 17 - which is where you can't add new buddies if you have 150 buddies. But I only have about 20 buddies, and besides I'm getting Feedbag error 10, and I can't find info about that anywhere.

    What should I do?
     
  4. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #4
    delete the iChat preferences
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    #5
    How should I do that?
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    #6
    com.apple.chatClient.plist inside user/library/prefs/

    I am not sure if this is right, but it sounds like it.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #7
    Yes, that always works when I need to reset Mail, so it should work for iChat.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    #8
    Nope, didn't work, it's still having the same problem.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    #9
    Do you think I should re-install Panther?
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #10

    Wow! Your that desparate? Why don't you head over to Apple.com's forums and ask them. There is always something over there that MacRumors members doesn't know (and vise-versa).
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    #11
    You have to be a .Mac member - don't you?
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    #12
    Nope, the all tech support forums are open to all, including those who don't have macs' :p

    BEN
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    micvog

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #13
    Did you ever find a solution? I am having the same problem (first time I have used iChat).
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    titaniumducky

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    #14
    Try reinstalling iChat only.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    micvog

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #15
    Figured it out... I needed to add a Buddy List first.
     

Share This Page