iChat not working

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Mr. Anderson, Nov 18, 2004.

  1. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #1
    So I have an internet connection, obviously, but iChat won't work? Is something going on with my connection/ports or is there more to it?

    D
     
  2. jackieonasses macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #2
    Wait, mine doesn't work either!~ I asked that to myself, My brothers name works. But mine just times out.
     
  3. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #3
    what do you mean?

    does it have to do with the account?

    this is really annoying...can't believe I rely on this app enough for it to annoy me when I can't use it...

    D
     
  4. Axeon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    #4
    My iChat won't connect now either. What's going on?
     
  5. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #5
    Well, I'm happy to know I'm not the only one....that's a bit of a relief...

    Now, to figure out why

    D
     
  6. jackieonasses macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #6
    My Girlfriends account last week said it was suspended. She had to make an entirely new one. I really hope that doesn't happen to me. I think it might have to do with accounts. At first i was thinking they are clearing names out, but i am on all the time. So that rules that out.
     
  7. Axeon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    #7
    Personally, I think it's the AIM server that iChat connects to. You should see if any windows using AIM users are being affected, as iChat does not have its own server.
     
  8. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #8
    aaahhh

    Do you use iChat AV?

    I wonder if they're going to put a stop to video soon?

    I know that I use it a lot.

    D
     
  9. jackieonasses macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #9
    Here's to hoping a large server just crashed... ;)


    {edit} Another guess is they are discontinuing all of the really really old names. How old is yours Mr. A?
     
  10. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #10
    I created a new account and it worked...wtf!!!!

    This is going to really piss me off - why in the hell would they do that?

    Bastards....

    D :mad: :mad:
     
  11. Axeon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    #11
    What the ****? Give me a ****ing break, AOL! There is going to be HELL to pay if they got rid of my AOL screenname!
     
  12. jackieonasses macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #12
    Okay it my hypothesis is starting to come correct. I really REALLY hope that isn't true!


    {edit} i am wrong! mine started working again. What a scare. Tell Mr. A, if it worked or not. I am very curious.
     
  13. Axeon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    #13
    Well I asked some people in an IRC room I'm on, and some people are on AIM, others got booted off. I doubt AOL is purging old screennames, as that makes no sense.

    The latency makes me think it might be a large scale DDoS on the AOL Toc server.. so who knows. People other than mac users ARE having trouble getting on though.
     
  14. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
  15. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #15
    not exactly good news...eh?

    But what ever happened, its working again - and now I have 2 aim accounts :D

    Weirdness, I wonder what happened?

    D
     
  16. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #16
    Well the good news is that your computer isn't ****ed up... all depends on how you view the situation.


    And nothing is wrong with my connection. :p :D
     
  17. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #17
    ah, but it gets better

    I was talking to Dr Q with my original account when it reactivated but he couldn't reply - it said it was read only and that i wasn't online.

    I could talk to him with my new account.

    Something is still upked fuc....

    D
     
  18. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  19. parrothead macrumors 6502a

    parrothead

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    #19
    About a week ago my wife's AIM account would not take her password. She hasn't changed it for a while so there is no way she forgot it. Anyway after a few annoying days she tried her first password that she had when she first opened her account years ago, and it worked. I found this really strange considering she has a AOL email account and there were no password troubles with that.
     
  20. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #20
    well, it seems to be working again fine - anyone know what happened?

    D
     
  21. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #21
    No ideas, and it's happened again. To me this time (no problems a month ago)
     
  22. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #22
    I started getting a msg last night saying that my AIM name had been blocked!?!?! WTF (In Adium & official client).
     
  23. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #23
    Mine's working fine, but my mother-in-law got a message saying that her account had been deactivated....weirdness...and no one has any idea what's going on?

    Very strange..

    D
     
  24. FelixDerKater macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #24
    I have two names, and sometimes my original name, made sometime in the late 90's will only time out when connecting, while the newer name will connect without issue.
     

Share This Page