iChat Questions

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by DougJrS, May 27, 2004.

  1. DougJrS macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #1
    Is iChat basically AOL messanger for a mac? I have added my .mac account to iChat, but I don't know how to tell my PC friends how to find me.

    I guess what I need to know is what program on the PC will talk with iChat.

    Thanks,
    Doug
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    AFAIK any AOL IM client can "talk" to iChat. Just give them the .mac email address you sign in to iChat with.
     
  3. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    edesignuk is correct - iChat is essentially an AIM client that supports .Mac members as usernames. Although AIM itself cannot register someone with a .Mac username, AIM can talk to iChat users that are using their .Mac email to log in.
     
  4. Mudbug Administrator emeritus

    Mudbug

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    North Central Colorado
    #4
    since I don't usually try to "find" other people - I'm not 100% sure -
    but the quickest thing to do would be for YOU to start up a chat with THEM and have THEM put YOU in their buddy list. that way there's no confusion. Then once one of them has done it, have them tell you what shows up as your username in the buddy list.
     
  5. macrlz9 macrumors 6502

    macrlz9

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #5
    ok, your .mac email address is an aim s/n for example mine is macrlz9@mac.com i can sign in on a pc using aim with the s/n macrlz9@mac.com you can't leave out the @mac.com part so that's all there is to it!
     
  6. ephramz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    #6
    Doesn't work with Trillian

    You just gotta be careful though. mac.com screennames for iChat don't work with 3rd party AIM clients on the PC like Trillian, or even some of the AIM Express Java clients on the aim.com website. So because I have several friends on PC's who use Trillian to be connected to multiple services at once (like Fire and Proteus and Adium on the Mac) I went ahead and got an AOL screenname since it's free. With a mac.com screenname in iChat, I never showed up as online in their buddy list, but now with an AOL screenname there's no problem.
     
  7. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #7
    Are you sure? I use Trillian Pro on my PC at home, and i swear I remember seeing .mac addresses in my buddy list. I even remember chatting with a few people with .mac addresses. And I see myself on my .mac screenname online.
    Bah.
    btw, unless youre big on audio/videochatting, I really really really recommend Adium as a better, faster, almost full-featured alternative to Fire, AIM for Mac OS X, iChat, Proteus, blah blah with support for Trepia, AIM, Jabber, Yahoo and many others...
     
  8. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

    johnnyjibbs

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    If you're afraid about compatibility, don't use your .Mac name for iChat - choose a normal AOL AIM screen name and use this for iChat. Then everyone will be able to recognise you, no matter what flavour of AIM they use.
     

Share This Page