iChat to AIM (PC)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by harveypooka, Nov 21, 2005.

  1. harveypooka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    #1
    Using the new iSight in the iMac and I cannot connect to a friend who uses AIM. First it said I wasn't accepting so I turned off 'Block all UDP requests' in Sharing and opened the ports (under instruction of an old Apple document) and now it just sticks on 'Starting Video Chat with: ...'. Any ideas?
     
  2. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #2
    Hm, I'm not even sure if this is compatible at all. Anyone done this before?
     
  3. Nexis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    #3
    iChat to AIM (PC)

    It works. I've done it using iChat to my PC laptop, and to a friend's PC. I also have a friend who has used AIM on his PC to connect to someone else's iChat. So that's sufficient proof to me that it works.
     
  4. harveypooka thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    #4
    What version of AIM did you use and what version of iChat?
     
  5. lordmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    #5
    I have done it a number of times though i have never done it sense i installed tiger on my powerbook so i dunno maybe when they changed how ichat compresses the video (h.264 in tiger) hinders it. Also there is a brand and completely new version of AIM for pc out known as triton, try downloading that, also its a hell of a lot nicer. Sometimes with these things all that is needed is updates updates updates. :)
     
  6. emutree macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Yeah has anyone on Windows used Triton? I was wondering if the video chats could be expanded full screen now, it would make my Windows friends who I force away from MSN to AIM to video with me very happy.
     
  7. reallybigafro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    #7
    I am having the exact problem. I just picked up an isight on the thanksgiving sale, and am frustrated with it not being able to work with my family, who uses AIM. If anyone has any other suggestions please let me know. Thanks in advance
     
  8. Nexis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    #8
    iSight, AIM and iChat

    The only way I got it to work was by entirely disabling the Windows XP firewall on my PC. Once I did that, I had no problems at all.
     
  9. Moof1904 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    #9
    I just did it (video chat, I mean) with an XP user using AIM this past week. Using AIM, for some reason, I couldn't connect if I (using 10.4.3 with iChat) invited XP user. If XP user invited me to chat, it worked fine.

    XP user switched from AIM to Trillium and found far superior framerates and quality. With Trillium, it worked no matter who invited whom.
     
  10. obeygiant macrumors 68040

    obeygiant

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    totally cool
    #10
    i just cant get this to work.
    do you think the type of webcam the pc user has makes a difference?
     
  11. Nexis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    #11
    AIM, iChat etc.

    I've used three different webcams on my PC machine just to see, and I have no problems with any of them.

    Are you on a router? Have you checked your windows firewall settings?
     
  12. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    I randomly spam my friend with connections for a video chat (that little video button is sooo tempting :p), and I assure you it works very well.

    Now, I think the biggest problem you have is with firewall ports. Check the Mac Help guide for that, it should tell you what port it uses for video chat.
     

Share This Page