ichat won't connect

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by mentaluproar, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. mentaluproar, Jul 28, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2011

    macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #1
    Ichat won't connect to any of my accounts in Lion. It gave me some trouble in snow leo, but nowhere near this. It almost NEVER works. What can I try to fix this?
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #3
    Fixed

    Simple fix. Disable and reenable all accounts.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    Tried that. Still just says "Offline"
     
  5. macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #5
    I have a similar problem but with Facetime.:confused:
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    #6
    Same Problem

    anyone figure this out?

    i am having the same problem.

    iChat wont even try and connect, just stays "offline"
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    deannnnn

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    New York City & South Florida
    #7
    I've had this happen 3 times now since upgrading to Lion. It's really frustrating, and I don't even use iChat all that much.

    SOLUTION:
    -Open up 'Activity Monitor' (use Spotlight to find it or go to Applications > Utilities).
    -In Activity Monitor, find "imagent" and click the red "Quit Process" button. A dialogue will come up asking if you want to Quit, Cancel, or Force Quit. Select Force Quit and iChat will connect.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    danakm

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    Wonderland
    #8
    Is this a permanent solution or will you have to do it every time you restart your computer and try to open iChat? :(
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    deannnnn

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    New York City & South Florida
    #9
    It's a "fix it for a while" solution. I don't have to do it every time I open iChat, but I had to do it today for the third time since upgrading to Lion on launch day.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Bahamut Eos

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
    Hey, I had the same problem and this fixed it. I hope they fix this in a update soon. I have to bookmark this thread so I can remember immanent.

    Thanks!
     
  11. macrumors regular

    lorax3

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #11
    First time I'm having this issue is in 10.7.2. Gchat will connect in iChat, but AIM will not. Ending the process in iChat is not working for me. :-/ hmm

    ----------

    For those having problems with AIM in 10.7.2 see this thread.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1247833

    unchecking SSL will work for now.....
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Gemütlichkeit

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #12
    Yeah AIM isn't connecting for me either. 10.7.2

    aah as posted above, uncheck SSL for AIM works. Not happy with that fix but it will do for now.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    #13
    Yep uncheck SSL under server settings in iChat Preferences.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    #14
    You can also change the server to slogin.oscar.aol.com and keep SSL checked.
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    Gemütlichkeit

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #15
    high five :D
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    Ah, finally fixed! 10.7.2 must have changed it to api.oscar.aol.com. Everything was working fine up until today when I updated to 10.7.2.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #17
    Worked for me! Thanks.
     

Share This Page