iChat

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by samdweck, Oct 5, 2002.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Location:
    1 Infinite Loop
    #1
    My real prob with iChat is that it has like no features, it's only an interface, but I do like the interface!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    chibianh

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Location:
    Colorado
  3. macrumors 68030

    medea

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Location:
    Madison, Wi
    #3
    well I don't know, I think networking with Rendezvous is a nice feature, as is the integration with Mail and Address Book. What kind of features are you looking for?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    FattyMembrane

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    bat country
    #4
    ichat needs to be more like adium. the only reason i'm using ichat is because i paid so much for the jaguar upgrade (its a matter of principle really, adium blows it out of the water). ichat needs
    1.Buddy List groups
    2.Tabbed Message interface
    3.Profile support
    4.Multiple account support
    5.File Transfer that actually works
    6.More descriptive dock icon
    7.Full sized buddy icons
    8.about 100 other things that i'd mention if i had more time

    ichat's interface is kind of nice, but it really lacks features. i really miss adium and if adium 2.0 is half as good as its supposed to be, screw the money i spent, i'm swithcing back. rendevouz has never given me a list of the people on my network and file transfer has never worked.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    D0ct0rteeth

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    #5
    have you tried grouping your contacts in address book? does that work?
    umm... already got it
    use address book bro. its there.
    like msn and yahoo? sure i agree.
    haven't tried it.. can't tell ya.
    its fine by me.
    again. i'm fine with it.
    try 5 or so. It sounds as if its all opinion and you just want adium.. well in that case use adium.. they are not the same program. Personaly I would dig having support for msn and voice support down the road so it can be used with my phone line (cellular or otherwise). Less nitpicky.. more visionary. I dont give a damn what the dock icon is. Thats what resedit is for :)
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    houston
    #6
    well i have to agree...iChat is lacking many features of just basic PC AIM that i liked. No one seems to be able to send me pics over iChat...they all show up as pink boxes. Also, you cant click on a name to get buddy info like idle time, away message, etc. and I KNOW you can just move your mouse over the name and it (SOMETIMES) shows you the away message, but the last person on the list...i can never see their away message.

    and i agree...i dont want to have to put all these people in my address book (if that would even work) to get group lists. i liked being able to put people in certain lists and minimize a given list. Like when on campus, i can minimize the other lists and keep the list of people that i IM during lecture open.

    Also, they make it difficult to add people to your buddy list. the list setup tab was a great thing!

    overall, i think iChat is great, but its not as good as it could be.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #7
    iChat does have a couple nice features that AIM doesnt have though, like automatically saving chat logs.
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #8
    the chat logs would be helpful if they showed the date that it was recorded, not the sequence number

    and yah...file transfer doesn't work for **** unless the other person is using iChat

    i'm already used to not having people in groups...i deleted all the people i hardly talk to in order to make things less complicated.

    profiles are stupid...you really don't need them
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    FattyMembrane

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    bat country
    #9
    doctorteeth: maybe i'm missing some of these ichat features. does it actually have a tabbed interface like adium, where every chat is in its own tab in a single window? i have not found this yet if its there. by multiple accounts, i meant allowing me to have several aim screennames (aim is the only protocol i use). i solved this problem, i must not have been thinking straight when i first tried to do it. i dont really care that much about buddy icons, but why include them if you're going to shrink them? this does not make much sense. making groups in the address book does not make buudy groups in ichat and it's also a hassle to have to add every buddy to your address book (i have to make two entries for a friend with two screen names)

    there are several little bugs that are a nuisance sometimes, but the rendevouz one is a real pain. i can have my normal buddy list showing several people from my network, yet when i load up rendevouz, it has never showed anyone at all for the entire time i've used 10.2. am i doing something wrong? what else besides select "login to rendevouz" do i have to do?
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Location:
    1 Infinite Loop
    #10
    i hate ichat but i use it because it looks cool!
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    kishba

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Location:
    Michigan
    #11
    i also have not found ANY sort of tabbed chatting interface in ichat.... once you start talking with 3 people it's easy to type in the wrong window (it can be hard to tell which one is the active window--with adium, the person's SN is highlighted in the tab)

    right now i use ichat with a second SN so i can see away messages and send files... i still do my important chatting with adium :)
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    D0ct0rteeth

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    #12
    the tabs are on the left bro... they just arent on the top.

    Get in two different chats.. and click on the different screennames to switch between chats.

    works for me...

    -chris
     
  13. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Location:
    1 Infinite Loop
    #13
    Doesn't work for me... uh... why?
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    kishba

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Location:
    Michigan
    #14
    i can't get it working either... it works for 2 individual chats, right? i thought that drawer just showed who was involved in a single chat
     
  15. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Location:
    1 Infinite Loop
    #15

    i am using iChat 1.0 build 52.. how about you? confused still... i know the participants tab... is that what u use?
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    kishba

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Location:
    Michigan
  17. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Location:
    1 Infinite Loop
    #17
    i hope there isn't a diff lol! ooopss... i have 51!
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Location:
    PA
    #18
    The one thing that i have noticed that seems to be lacking. Is the fact that ichat doesn't transmitt your away message to those who IM you. It simply just takes the incoming message. Profiles it doesn;t have profiles. i've tried doing it in the address book and that doesn't work. Yeah it might not be that big of a deal, but to a college student this things are important. After all i need as many reasons as possible to not do my work. This eliminates one. Not cool
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    FattyMembrane

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    bat country
    #19
    does anyone know what you have to do to set up rendevouz messging? i have it set to launch when ichat starts, but it has never showed any names. do the other people have to be using ichat for me to see them, or sould it recognize anyone using the aim protocol on the network? i'm on a college lan and there are always people online, i have friends on the network whose names appear in my buddy list, but not on the rendevouz list. what's up?
     
  20. macrumors 68020

    cyks

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    #20
    I was curious if there was a way to use multiple AIM accounts in iChat....anyone?
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    FattyMembrane

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    bat country
    #21
    go to preferences>accounts. then type the name and pass of your second account and log in. now when you go to the preferences again, both names will be stored in the screen name pull down menu. unfortunately, i do not think it has adium's feature of asking you at start-up which account you would like to use.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    chibianh

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Location:
    Colorado
    #22
    rendezvous will only see other people on your network running ichat with rendezvous turned on. It's a rendezvous thing, not AIM protocol. Also, if they are on the same network, but different subnet, rendezvous will not detect them either.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    FattyMembrane

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    bat country
    #23
    thanks for the info chibianh. does anyone know if aol is planning to incorporate rendevouz into aim, now that it's open source? if not, it makes the feature kind of useless for most situations.
     
  24. macrumors 68020

    cyks

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    #24
    Thank you, but I was refering to running multiple accounts at once. I can't be the only person that has/runs more then one AIM name at a time. For now- I'm running both iChat and AIM at the same time...but there has to be an easier way.
    Anyone?
     

Share This Page