iChat

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DarkNetworks, Aug 3, 2005.

  1. DarkNetworks macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #1
    What is iChat actually? Is it a client for AOL or it's Apple's Chat Service where u buy the .Mac account, you get to use it? I've got a AOL account and i'm wondering if i can use it with iChat to webcam with my friends using AOL in the windows platform.Is iSight compatitable with AOL in iChat?
     
  2. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #2
    I'm not sure about the iSight compatibility, but you can use an AOL account with iChat.
    You CAN also use the .mac account if you wanted to.

    It's basically AIM.. but pretty.. and Apple-tastic. :)
     
  3. Kushiro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Location:
    Genève, Suisse
    #3
    You don't need to buy a .mac account to use it...just register for free (sign up for a trial and set up a name) and then even when the trial expires you will still be able to use the address with iChat.

    Sorry, I have no idea about the AOL account part of things.

    Kush
     
  4. munkle macrumors 68030

    munkle

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    On a jet plane
    #4
    iChat works with AIM and .mac, it will work with others too by using Jabber, but that's a long and convoluted story.

    The iSight will work dandy with iChat. Theoretically you should be able to have video chats with Windows AIM users from iChat(make sure they have the latest version of AIM) but some people have reported slight problems.
     
  5. DarkNetworks thread starter macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #5
    So if i sign up for a .mac account and use iChat with my .mac account, can my friend add me using my .mac account name to their AOL messenger and be able to do webcam with me?Just to confirm.
    And btw, i'm assuming that iChat recieves webcam right?
    I don't wanna go out and get the iSight and then realise that it doesn't work...
     
  6. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #6
    Yes, they can add your @mac.com screen name to their buddy list. However, if you want something shorter and not advertising that you have a Mac (or more an e-mail address to spam) you can get just a regular screen name at http://my.screenname.aol.com <--what an ugly URL, but that's it.

    For instance, my screen name is "itas0r". I also have itasor@mac.com, but itas0r is much shorter and easier for people to remember.

    As for the iSight, I would get it some place you can easily return it, because the AV part of iChat is known to do funny things, like not work for no reason. I just use my miniDV FW camera and it sometimes works with Windows users.

    Just think though, if they use Windows are they worth video chatting with anyway?
     
  7. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #7

    MEE-OWWW!!!!

    :p

    Itasor, I think you're one of my fav. people on the boards, hahaha. :)
     
  8. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #8
    I just signed up for my free AIM account on Monday. Works flawlessly with iChat. My wife uses her .Mac account, no problem in setting her on my buddy list. Haven't tried iSight or a Windows user.
     
  9. DarkNetworks thread starter macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #9
    thnx..i'll just go to the Apple Store and ask them if it works...if they say yes, i'll get it, so if it doesn't work, i can return it to them...

    Lol...i pretty much don't mind... ;)
     
  10. DarkNetworks thread starter macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #10
    Btw, one more quick question, if i get a .mac set, which means i buy it, i set up a website using my .mac account. What happends to the website, my idisk storage and everything if i don't renew my .mac after one year?
     
  11. munkle macrumors 68030

    munkle

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    On a jet plane
    #11
    It'll disappear into cyberspace, where nobody will be able to hear you scream.

    Of course you are able to backup your data.
     
  12. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #12
    Yes, it will all be gone. If you plan not to renew, just be sure that you left the automatic renewal button unchecked.
     

Share This Page