iChat

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by andypress, Sep 20, 2003.

  1. andypress macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #1
    Is there any possible way to run iChat on OS 10.1.5? I doin't mean the av version, just the regular instant messenging client.
     
  2. Farside161 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    not to my knowledge. iChat was an added in 10.2 and was never made availble for download.
     
  3. andypress thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #3
    There has to be some kind of program/hack that'll let me run it; that's how I'm running 10.1.5 on my 9500.
     
  4. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #4
    cant you hack jaguar to run on those machines as well. i think your computer is nearing its end. maybe you should consider a upgrade. but for the time being check out adium, its a worth competitor to ichat and i prefer it many times.

    iJon
     
  5. andypress thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #5
    I got it for free on loan from my friend for probaly for a long time, so im not really complaining. I'm a recent mac convert and I'll probaly be buying a Powerbook next summer.
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    The Rendezvous technology would have to be available to 10.1.x for iChat to work. I've heard of a few who've tried and failed. <hears a line from Dune here>

    You can always try AIM, Adium, or Fire.
     
  7. jholzner macrumors 65816

    jholzner

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Champaign, IL
    #7
    Re: iChat

    iChat uses the new system wide address book that wasn't available in 10.1.x. So I don't think it can be done.
     

Share This Page