Icon for certain files corrupted in OS X 10.3

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by lssmit02, Mar 29, 2004.

  1. lssmit02 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    #1
    I'm having trouble with some icons in 10.3.3. Some icons for files from certain programs have become corrupted, meaning that the program's default icon for the files no longer works. For example, none of my powerpoint slides have a powerpoint icon any more. Instead, they are a weird looking icon, that when selected, the preview shows it as the default address card icon.

    I believe that this happened after I ran Diskwarrior 3.01 (i.e. the upgraded version). While this seems unlikely, because Diskwarrior has such a good reputation (and has saved me in the past), this does seem to be the sequence (I can't be enirely sure, since a couple of days went by before I had cause to acess those files).

    Does anyone have advice on how to fix this problem? It's not all icons (program icons appear to all be ok), and its not all files for all programs. I haven't run Diskwarrior again, but thought maybe that might be a good idea. Diskutility does not fix the problem.

    Thanks
     
  2. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #2
    I don't have a solution, but I've seen this too since 10.3. Sporadically, some icons get corrupted, though a restart usually fixes it for me. I've never used Diskwarrior though.
     
  3. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #3
    log out and log back in... (or a restart, as the prev. poster said.)

    mine seems to happen whenever i use FUS..?

    i've also noticed that manually changing the icons may not stick...

    but they all seem to be fine once you log out and come back...
     
  4. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    I've found that rebuilding the Classic desktop file (from within System Preferences, Classic pane, Advanced tab), then logging out and back in, fixes these issues, though they often recur; sometimes the problem comes back only minutes after I've 'fixed' it.
     
  5. markjones05 macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #5
    yea this happens to me all the time as well. Usually after i have used my mac for a few days without restarting. Its annoying though i hope they fix this in the next update.
     
  6. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #6
    interesting, because i have this problem and i don't even have classic on my machine... (i didn't bother re-installing when i upgraded to panther from jaguar...) :confused:
     
  7. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #7
    As it turns out, you can still rebuild the Classic desktop even if Classic isn't installed. Rebuilding the Classic desktop is actually the only option available in the Classic pane of System Preferences if Classic is not there.
     
  8. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #8
    ahhh, thanks for the info... obviously, i don't use classic apps so i haven't even bothered looking at that pref. pane... ;)
     
  9. lssmit02 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    #9
    D'oh. It worked. Thanks.

    I forgot to follow my basic rule of things with an on/off switch. If it's broken, restart. Works great with copiers, too (other than paper jams).

    I guess since I've switched (back) to Mac from Windows, I just don't shut down as often. Just don't seem to need to. :)
     
  10. G4scott macrumors 68020

    G4scott

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    I too have just started to experience this problem. Hopefully Apple will address it in the 10.3.4 update...
     

Share This Page