Icon Help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by surfer99, Nov 23, 2006.

  1. surfer99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    VA
    #1
    When I save videos in a folder on my desktop some of them have an icon that is the first frame of the video and others just show the quiktime logo. All the videos are using quicktime as the application so I just dont get it. Does anybody have any ideas as to how to have all the icons as the first frame of the video?
     
  2. Vader macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #2
    Are they different formats? Did you download all the ones with the first frame preview from the same place? Other than that I don't really know why it would preview the first frame on some and not others.
     
  3. surfer99 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    VA
    #3
    They are all downloaded the same way from the same source (my digital camera).
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Are these all in the same folder? In the View Options (COMMAND-J) you can opt whether to Show Icon Preview. Is this always checked, in every folder? :)
     
  5. MrSmith macrumors 68040

    MrSmith

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    #5
    Deselecting Icon Preview stops even the QT icon showing. Maybe no poster frame set?
     
  6. surfer99 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    VA
    #6
    Yes all of these are in the same folder. I tried to post a screen shot of the folder and the folder info but its says that the file is too large.
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    You can shrink the screen shot file size by opening it in Preview, selecting Save As and then selecting JPEG in the accompanying drop down list before reducing the quality along the slider. :)
     
  8. surfer99 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    VA
    #8
    how do i go about opening it up in "preview"?
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Well, by default it should open in Preview, but otherwise you can drag it to the Preview icon in your Applications folder or you can select Open With Preview in the contextual menu when you right click on it.
     
  10. surfer99 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    VA
    #10
    by default it opens with quicktime and when I right click I have the option to open it with itunes or quicktime. Am I missing something?
     
  11. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    Sorry, I'm talking about the screenshot, not the QuickTime movie. :eek:
     
  12. surfer99 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    VA
    #12
    Mad Jew....my bad. I got a little confused there. I thought you were talking about the movies and you were talking about the screenshot (only took me about a day to realize that). Well here ya go, I followed your instructions so I can post a screen shot. Hopefully this will help. This is one of those problems thats really just annoying me so much.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. MrSmith macrumors 68040

    MrSmith

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    #13
    Interesting problem. The only (video) preview I can get in icon view is with avi. Otherwise it's QT icons.
     
  14. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #14
    Yeah, sorry mate, I've got nothin'. I know some files take longer to get their images up than others. I think larger movies usually exhibit this problem more than smaller ones. :eek:
     

Share This Page