Icons being changed

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Ugg, May 15, 2005.

  1. Ugg macrumors 68000

    Ugg

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Penryn
    #1
    I got a new PB in Feb. and about a month after I got it, I had this weird thing happen. Every once in awhile an icon will change. It might be a folder on my desktop that changes to a Safari icon, and once even an app in my dock took the icon of another app. It's more or less constant and seems to clear up for a little bit after I restart. I've repaired permissions almost constantly but to no avail. I'm still running Panther and am thinking the best thing is a clean install but before I do that I thought I'd run it by the board to see if anyone else has had the same problem.
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    Yeah, it happens now & then in Panther. A restart does fix it but force-quitting (i.e. relaunching) the Finder also works as well -- a little bit quicker than rebooting.
     
  3. FadeToBlack macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #3
    Yep, it's a bug in the finder. All I do is relaunch the finder if I notice it happening and it clears it right up.
     
  4. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #4
    I changed practically all of my icons ages ago and they never seem to change back, but I have heard of this problem before. Just a minor nuisance more than anything...
     
  5. Ugg thread starter macrumors 68000

    Ugg

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Penryn
    #5
    Cool, i was beginning to think I had virus or something. I didn't think of just relaunching the finder, I'll do that next time.

    Thanks!
     
  6. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #6
    Yah, it can be a little annoying, but there's not much else you can do...
     
  7. RAS admin macrumors regular

    RAS admin

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Location:
    Berkshires, Mass.
    #7
    I used to have that happen all the time. After seeing this post I realized that now that I've upgraded to Tiger, it hasn't happened at all...
     
  8. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #8
    With all the troubles being reported in the 10.4.1. thread, it sounds like this would be the least of your worries... ;)
     

Share This Page