Icons Question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DarkNetworks, Aug 4, 2005.

  1. DarkNetworks macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #1
    Can someone give me the file for the system icons? i mean the full set of original system icons...i messed up with Candybar and now whenever i click restore my icons (in Candybar), it says, the file does not exist or can't find the file...
     
  2. tag macrumors 6502a

    tag

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    PA, US
    #2
    I will be willing to upload the icons to my private server for you to download if you know what directory in Tiger they are stored in.

    I read the panther system icons are stored at /System/Library/CoreServices/SystemIcons.bundle/Contents/Resources but I dont seem to have that folder so I have no clue where they are at.
     
  3. Benjamin macrumors 6502a

    Benjamin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    /System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle/Contents/Resources
     
  4. tag macrumors 6502a

    tag

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    PA, US
    #4
    Thanks for the location of that Benjamin.

    DarkNetworks, I sent you a PM with the web address for the Resources.
     
  5. DarkNetworks thread starter macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #5
    i found that, but the CoreTypes.bundle needs to open with an application.
     
  6. Benjamin macrumors 6502a

    Benjamin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6

    no you just rightclick or ctrl click and show package contents.... its like a framework.
     
  7. DarkNetworks thread starter macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #7
    Okay, wht do i need to do?
    Replace it with the Resource file tag gave to me?
     
  8. tag macrumors 6502a

    tag

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    PA, US
    #8

    Ok, open up Terminal.app

    type 'cd /System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle/Contents'

    Now type 'ls -F'

    If there is a folder there called 'Resources/' goto next step 2.
    If there isn't type 'open .' and then move the unarchived folder that I gave you into the window that just opened up.

    Next step 2- If there is 'Resources/' folder, type 'cd Resources' and then type 'open .' and finder will open a window to that folder and you can see whats in there. Then feel free to put whatever you need into that folder, (Since I included everything in Resources in that tar.gz file, not just the icons, I included the settings ie(English.lproj Folder and System) Or just throw in all the icons if thats all you need.

    Sorry if thats a bit confusing, if you need more help Ill try to do better. :)
     
  9. DarkNetworks thread starter macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #9
    Ok i did all of that and replaced the icons and stuffs but now when i open Candybar, it shows this,
     
  10. tag macrumors 6502a

    tag

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    PA, US
    #10
    Alright, now I must say upfront I've never used Candybar. So I can throw out a few ideas but I'm not totally sure it will work.

    1)Have you tried restarting your computer since you replaced the icons? Since they are system level icons, Im not sure if you would need to or not.

    2)Could try removing all traces of Candybar from your system and then reinstalling it if you still want it.

    3)It seems to be looking for a backup for some reason of the icon for a new folder. You could try putting a copy of 'GenericFolderIcon.icns' from that Resources Folder you downloaded from me, and renaming that to 'new_folder.icns' and putting that where it asks -'/Users/Jason/Library/Application Support/CandyBar/

    Hope one of those helps. If not maybe someone with some CandyBar experience can help.
     
  11. DarkNetworks thread starter macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #11
    I've tried all, but still not working, the third option, doesn't work, it seems that it requires yet another file called find. something...
     

Share This Page