icons with alpha/transparency in X

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Choppaface, Apr 2, 2002.

  1. Choppaface macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    SFBA
    #1
    how do you do this? I'm copying stuff right out of illustrator 10 and trying to paste it in the get info window and it keeps on giving me a white background
     
  2. Choppaface thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    SFBA
    #2
    ok i made the icon file via the icon builder in the dev tools
    how do make the folder use the icon now?
     
  3. menoinjun macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #3
    btw-

    Were you exporting it as a .jpg? Jpeg files don't support transparency, but .gif files do. You could try that next time.

    -Pete
     
  4. menoinjun macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #4
    I think this should work. Copy the icon that you made to the clipboard.

    Select the folder or file that you wish to change the icon of.

    Hit (open-apple)-I to get the info of the file or folder.

    Select the icon in the upper-left hand corner of the info pane.

    Paste the icon.

    There ya go!

    -Pete
     
  5. Choppaface thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    SFBA
    #5
    yes i did that! thats how you used to do it in OS9

    but it keeps on giving me white backgrounds instead of transparency!

    I've tried creating an icns file using the dev tool thingy and transfering that file's data into the (hidden) icon file in the folder via BBEdit but no worky

    I've seen a lot of people with fancy icons on their stuff here. howd you do it? or has nobody tried creating original icons here....?
     
  6. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #6
    I use Iconographer: http://www.versiontracker.com/moreinfo.fcgi?id=11842&db=mac

    To get transparency, crank your settings in Illustrator so that all solid colours are black, and all shadowy areas are fading between black and white.

    Paste your Icon into Iconoggrapher, then paste your mask in. You may want to do this several times at different sizes if you want your icon to look good at all sizes. I just made an action (in Photoshop) that resized my icon and it's mask to the right sizes.
     
  7. Choppaface thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    SFBA
    #7
    kewl thanks man :D :D

    I can't believe that you have to use a 3rd party app to make icons work he he

    if only I know what character that was after the name "Icon"....is it a double space or something?

    *looks it up in hexedit*

    ah its a null...no wonder

    how does one type a null on the keyboard?
     
  8. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #8
    Sorry, I don't think I made myself clear. Iconographer is what I use to make icons. Then you can just cut and paste them in the OS.

    It's not the OS that is giving your icons a white background. It's doing it because you're not going about making icons the right way.
     

Share This Page