Identify This MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by icecreamtruck, Jan 20, 2012.

  1. icecreamtruck
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #1
    Hi Friends --

    Are any of you able to identify the year that the following MacBook Pro was made? The following is ALL the information I have. I bought it off of ebay and now I'm wondering if I made a mistake. I can't afford a new one though...and I break things. It's for myself and some youth!

    Macbook Pro 15" Aluminum w/webcam

    120Gb Hard Drive

    2Gb Memory

    Airport Card

    Power Cord

    OS 10.6 Snow Leopard

    Processor Type: Intel Core 2 Duo
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GGJstudios
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    You can find specs on all Apple products:
     
  3. NZed
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
  4. icecreamtruck
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #4
    Thanks guys but these are all the specs I have. I don't actually have the laptop or the serial number. I just bought it off of ebay and it's in the mail. I wondered if you could tell from the picture and the specs combined...
     
  5. BreakGuy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    BreakGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    NZ, South Pacific
    #5
    Looks like the Base 2007 model that includes:
    • 15.4-inch widescreen LED-backlit 1440-by-900 LCD display;
    • 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor;
    • 2GB of 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM, expandable to 4GB;
    • 120GB Serial ATA hard drive running at 5400 rpm, with Sudden Motion Sensor;
    • a slot-load 8x SuperDrive® with double-layer support (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW) optical drive;
    • NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 128MB GDDR3 memory;
    • DVI-out port for external display (VGA-out adapter included, Composite/S-Video out adapter sold separately);
    • built-in Dual Link support for driving Apple 30-inch Cinema HD Display;
    • built-in iSight video camera;
    • Gigabit Ethernet port;
    • built-in AirPort Extreme® 802.11n wireless networking and Bluetooth 2.0+EDR;
    • ExpressCard/34 expansion card slot;
    • two USB 2.0 ports, one FireWire 800 port, and one FireWire 400 port;
      one audio line in and one headphone out port, each supporting optical digital audio;
    • Scrolling TrackPad and illuminated keyboard; and
    • 85 Watt Apple MagSafe Power Adapter.
     
  6. icecreamtruck
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #6
    Thank you! I hope I didn't make a mistake. I needed something while I save up for something new. It cost me $330. What do you say?
     
  7. cardude280
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Location:
    West Virginia
    #7
    I don't look at the 15's that much but it looks like a good deal to me and I believe since its a core 2 you should be able to install lion on it if you would want.

    Congratulations on your purchase
     
  8. icecreamtruck
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #8
    Thank you. This is my first laptop. Lion won't slow it down too much?
     
  9. thejadedmonkey
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #9
    It could even be a 1st gen core duo or the late 2006 core 2 duo (which is what I have). Either way, it's not a bad laptop at all. It's nothing amazing compared to today's technology, but it's certainly a great first laptop!
     
  10. EEXOOO
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #10
    I strongly believe it will, especially with 2GB RAM.
     
  11. BreakGuy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    BreakGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    NZ, South Pacific
    #11
    I certainly wouldn't install Lion on it. You'll have too many problems for what its worth.
     
  12. miniConvert
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #12
    If it's a C2D and can take 4GB RAM, upgrade that yourself and install Lion.

    I did the upgrade on my 2007 MBP and Lion runs beautifully on it.
     
  13. iThinkergoiMac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #13
    I agree. I wouldn't install Lion on anything with "only" 2 GB RAM on it. You need 4. Which is, of course, moronic that you need that much RAM to run the system and apps well.
     
  14. miniConvert
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #14
    Isn't it? OS X needs to go on a serious diet.

    That said, feed it enough RAM and Lion is quite spectacular, IMHO. With RAM being so inexpensive these days perhaps it doesn't matter.
     
  15. thundersteele
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #15
    I wouldn't upgrade to Lion. It comes with SL, which is good enough as an operating system.

    Upgrading to 4 GB of ram could be useful, but is not necessary. Good luck with the machine.
     
  16. snaky69
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #16
    If it is one of the early machines(2006 core duo) it already has maxed out RAM.
     
  17. thekev
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #17
    It's a scaling thing. Ram consumption increases slowed down when we started to really hit the 32 bit ceiling. Given that Lion is basically a full transition to 64 afaik that means addressing information in larger chunks. I don't actually like Lion, but ram requirements have very little to do with that.
     

Share This Page