Identify This MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by icecreamtruck, Jan 20, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #1
    Hi Friends --

    Are any of you able to identify the year that the following MacBook Pro was made? The following is ALL the information I have. I bought it off of ebay and now I'm wondering if I made a mistake. I can't afford a new one though...and I break things. It's for myself and some youth!

    Macbook Pro 15" Aluminum w/webcam

    120Gb Hard Drive

    2Gb Memory

    Airport Card

    Power Cord

    OS 10.6 Snow Leopard

    Processor Type: Intel Core 2 Duo
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    You can find specs on all Apple products:
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #3
    Go to About this Mac

    Apple>About this Mac
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #4
    Thanks guys but these are all the specs I have. I don't actually have the laptop or the serial number. I just bought it off of ebay and it's in the mail. I wondered if you could tell from the picture and the specs combined...
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    BreakGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    NZ, South Pacific
    #5
    Looks like the Base 2007 model that includes:
    • 15.4-inch widescreen LED-backlit 1440-by-900 LCD display;
    • 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor;
    • 2GB of 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM, expandable to 4GB;
    • 120GB Serial ATA hard drive running at 5400 rpm, with Sudden Motion Sensor;
    • a slot-load 8x SuperDrive® with double-layer support (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW) optical drive;
    • NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 128MB GDDR3 memory;
    • DVI-out port for external display (VGA-out adapter included, Composite/S-Video out adapter sold separately);
    • built-in Dual Link support for driving Apple 30-inch Cinema HD Display;
    • built-in iSight video camera;
    • Gigabit Ethernet port;
    • built-in AirPort Extreme® 802.11n wireless networking and Bluetooth 2.0+EDR;
    • ExpressCard/34 expansion card slot;
    • two USB 2.0 ports, one FireWire 800 port, and one FireWire 400 port;
      one audio line in and one headphone out port, each supporting optical digital audio;
    • Scrolling TrackPad and illuminated keyboard; and
    • 85 Watt Apple MagSafe Power Adapter.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #6
    Thank you! I hope I didn't make a mistake. I needed something while I save up for something new. It cost me $330. What do you say?
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Location:
    West Virginia
    #7
    I don't look at the 15's that much but it looks like a good deal to me and I believe since its a core 2 you should be able to install lion on it if you would want.

    Congratulations on your purchase
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #8
    Thank you. This is my first laptop. Lion won't slow it down too much?
     
  9. macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #9
    It could even be a 1st gen core duo or the late 2006 core 2 duo (which is what I have). Either way, it's not a bad laptop at all. It's nothing amazing compared to today's technology, but it's certainly a great first laptop!
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #10
    I strongly believe it will, especially with 2GB RAM.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    BreakGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    NZ, South Pacific
    #11
    I certainly wouldn't install Lion on it. You'll have too many problems for what its worth.
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #12
    If it's a C2D and can take 4GB RAM, upgrade that yourself and install Lion.

    I did the upgrade on my 2007 MBP and Lion runs beautifully on it.
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #13
    I agree. I wouldn't install Lion on anything with "only" 2 GB RAM on it. You need 4. Which is, of course, moronic that you need that much RAM to run the system and apps well.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #14
    Isn't it? OS X needs to go on a serious diet.

    That said, feed it enough RAM and Lion is quite spectacular, IMHO. With RAM being so inexpensive these days perhaps it doesn't matter.
     
  15. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #15
    I wouldn't upgrade to Lion. It comes with SL, which is good enough as an operating system.

    Upgrading to 4 GB of ram could be useful, but is not necessary. Good luck with the machine.
     
  16. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #16
    If it is one of the early machines(2006 core duo) it already has maxed out RAM.
     
  17. macrumors 603

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #17
    It's a scaling thing. Ram consumption increases slowed down when we started to really hit the 32 bit ceiling. Given that Lion is basically a full transition to 64 afaik that means addressing information in larger chunks. I don't actually like Lion, but ram requirements have very little to do with that.
     

Share This Page