Idiocracy

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by shecky, Mar 6, 2007.

1. shecky Guest

shecky

this is a great movie from the guy who did "Beavis + Butthead" and "Office Space" - i thought it was really funny and witty, and as a designer i found all of the reworked logos and language to be a treat.

Idiocracy

2. obeygiant macrumors 68040

obeygiant

I just saw this based on your recommendation. I almost busted a gut laughing in a couple parts. Beyond all the hilarity, it actually has a couple interesting themes.

But srsly, when the bit about the movie "ASS" came on, I though I was going to have a heart attack.

Also, I love how Costco covers like 200 square miles.

3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

Is it out on video, or in theaters? I haven't heard about it, but it's listed as 2006. Trailer looked at least modestly funny. :)

4. shecky thread starter Guest

shecky

its on DVD now.

i think that my favorite sight gag was the way the police cars say "Police" in that gangsta vectorized blackletter typography. but the wittyest was the way the Fox News logo was identical to how it is today :)

5. someguy macrumors 68020

someguy

Saw it twice, a few weeks ago. Best movie ever!

Well not ever, but I really liked it (hence watching it twice).

"Go away! 'Batin'!" :eek:

6. apfhex macrumors 68030

apfhex

Yeah, I just rented this as a result of the Speak Up article. Most of the humor, was, of course, in the branding/logos (BRAWNDO: The Thirst Mutilator).

[​IMG]
    "Welcome to Costso, I love you."

7. obeygiant macrumors 68040

obeygiant

8. ezzie macrumors 68020

ezzie

this one's next on the netflix queue, and i can't wait to see it. i keep hearing all kinds of good things! :)

i have a feeling i have to stop reading this thread or you'll all ruin it for me!!!! :p

9. aricher macrumors 68020

aricher