iDVD, big problems

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by theposse, Jul 8, 2004.

1. theposse macrumors regular

I have been playing around on imovie and idvd over the last week and i'm new to it so my 1st attempt at burning my own movie to dvd wasn't too bad but lacked personalit.Therefore i decided to go all out and make a masterpiece,so in imovie i put titles in and music and all the transition affects that i liked and in the end had some 4.2 gbs of movie whick looked amazing when played back in iDVD.
    BUT when i burned it ,it all went terribly wrong,firstly it took 16 hrs to do whatever it does(multiplexing and encoding and then burning).
    I don't know what happpend but it only copied half the DVD and then a window saying (error buffer underrun illegal something or other).Also the video stops but the audio carries on ??????
    Can anyone please tell me what went wrong as my other DVDs came out fine without all the effects and titles.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Scottie :mad:

2. jemeinc macrumors 6502a

3. theposse thread starter macrumors regular

I may have found the problem i seem to have created an imovie project that is 12.77gbs but its only 52 mins long but i do have alot of transition effects about 40 in all.So why didn't iDVD tell me taht it wouldn't fit on the disc?????

4. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

WinterMute

It will fit, iMovie edits in DV-stream, which runs at around a gig every four minutes, but iDVD converts this to MPEG2 for the DVD which compresses the data down to the level where 120 mins will fit into 4.2 gigs (single sided DVD's=4.7 gig raw storage, 4.2 gig in reality)

What machine are you running on? iDVD does take some time with larger projects. Make sure you're running the latest iDVD version with 10.3.4, I have no problems burning 2 hour videos with iDVD although DVD studio pro is a much better option.

5. MegaSignal macrumors 6502

Try this...