IE 5.2 for OS X.2

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by ivork, Sep 17, 2002.

  1. ivork macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    #1
    I recently installed Jaguar on two of my macs. It updated my IE to 5.2 and now I can't get the "ratings" preferences to show up. Has anyone else had this problem?
     
  2. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
  3. blackpeter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    #3
    Amen to that! :D

    I've barely been using it for a week and I don't know how I ever browsed without it. ;)
     
  4. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #4
    hehe i heard that. its just so frickin fast. ever since they pulled off the 1.0 tree its been getting faster and faster. Plus, i really prefer its looks to any browser, even omniweb. The folders in my toolbar are mad fast. For some reason OW never seems to be as fast with that.
     
  5. FattyMembrane macrumors 6502a

    FattyMembrane

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    bat country
    #5
    i honestly wonder why anyone still uses IE. i trashed it the minute i was done installing 10.2 and have never looked back.
     
  6. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #6
    i hate MS more than you, but...

    i've got reasons.

    1. when i first used chimera, my hard drive started spinning and never stopped until i rebooted the machine

    2. now when i try to open chimera, the navigator icon bounces twice and disappears

    so until it works properly, i'll use IE. even though i hate MS, so much so i left the software industry.

    fwiw, i'm running 10.2 on a 400 MHz g3 lombard pbook. navigator is v0.4.0
     
  7. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #7
    Re: i hate MS more than you, but...

    Current version is .5 ...check it out. :)
     
  8. Draft macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    I have also trashed IE and it's been great. Anything that chimera can't do, mozilla can. Plus they're both way faster then IE.

    Draft
     
  9. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #9
    Re: Re: i hate MS more than you, but...

    ha! much better. thank you.

    now if i can just figure out a way to quiet those animated gifs...
     
  10. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    Re: Re: Re: i hate MS more than you, but...

    Hey, I resemble that remark! ;)

    Sorry, there's no way to do that yet in Chimera.
     
  11. sphereboy macrumors 6502

    sphereboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Location:
    MIAMI.FL.USA
    #11
    I just installed Chimera. So far it seems alot faster than IE and looks much cooler.

    i have one problem.. when i went to a site with pop ups.. chimera asked me if i want to restrict pop ups from showing up.. i answered no..but now I want to go back and tell it to restrict the pop ups.

    how can i go back and answer yes to this preference?

    UPDATE: I LOVE THIS CHIMERA BROWSER! .. the tab feature is awesome! No more windows open all over the place.

    thanks
     
  12. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #12
    you can't do it using the app, but there's a preference file you can change.

    i forget the details, but read the docs you d/loaded w/ the chimera image. it's in there.
     

Share This Page