IE MacRumors ToolBar

Discussion in 'Community' started by MacAztec, Jul 7, 2002.

  1. MacAztec macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #1
    Well, I think this is pretty cool...

    Go to SpyMac and read the story.
    The pictures are here... http://www.spymac.com/iemenubar.html

    You just drag and drop the pics into the TOOLBAR where the home, refresh, and buttons like that are...

    I was thinking someone could mke one for MacRumors, but I don't have any photoshop talent. So if anyone is up for it!!!

    Here is my toolbar...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MacAztec thread starter macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #2
    And...

    Here is a nice pic for a MacRumors one...I think....
     
  3. MacAztec thread starter macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #3
    Sorry...

    Sorry about the last post. Says I can't delete it. I accidentaly clicked submit instead of browse.

    Oh well, heres a pic for MacRumors...
     

    Attached Files:

  4. cleo macrumors 65816

    cleo

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa Bay Area, FL, USA
  5. Durandal7 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
  6. MacAztec thread starter macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
  7. Durandal7 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    #7
    In that case I'm on it. Expect a button from me within the hour. :D
     
  8. cleo macrumors 65816

    cleo

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa Bay Area, FL, USA
    #8
    either way, how do you do it? do you have to first go into customize toolbar? i can't get anything to stick to mine!
     
  9. MacAztec thread starter macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #9
    Cleo baby....

    Hehehe...

    Go to that SpyMac page with all the customizable things on it. Now, click one and hold the clicker. Drag it up to the bar where your back button, refresh and home is.

    LISTEN THOUGH! Make sure your put it on the right side of those dots that go down in the bar. Just try putting it about the text box thing, about 3/4 of the way on the right side...
     
  10. Durandal7 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
  11. drastik macrumors 6502a

    drastik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Nashvegas
  12. MacAztec thread starter macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #12
    Hey, submit that to SpyMac, and maybe you will win a 4 Port Titanium Hub.

    Hell, if you do, you best ship it to me because I told you about this! ;)
     
  13. MacAztec thread starter macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #13
    hey!

    If you have time, make some for different places! Like DealMac, or SmallDog, or Apple Store, or... I dont know, be creative, and use your favorite links!!
     
  14. FelixDerKater macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #14
    Not new...

    This feature has been there since the first release of IE for Mac OS X 10.0. I discovered it by accident last year trying to drag a link into the Address Bar and it fell on the toolbar instead. :cool:
     
  15. drastik macrumors 6502a

    drastik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Nashvegas
    #15
    heres one for ya, animated buttons work too, though I can't make the link work. Any help on that?
     

    Attached Files:

  16. FelixDerKater macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #16
    Animation...

    The animation is cool, but it would get aweful annoying after a few times of seeing it. :cool:
     
  17. drastik macrumors 6502a

    drastik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Nashvegas
    #17
    you're right, it just interests me with possibilities. Could I make an event sensitive link? One that appears on Roll over?

    I don't know if I really wanna mess with it, but anyone else, have at it.
     
  18. Durandal7 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    #18
    The only problem with that is that it needs a static aqua background or it won't work right.
     
  19. Grokgod macrumors 6502a

    Grokgod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Location:
    Deep within the heart of madness!
    #19
    WOw i am impressed!

    I think that Spymac has really started to improve their site...

    I have been seeing a lot of cool things coming from them and this new contest is yet another....

    Can someone post a little TUT on how to make the icons that have URL's in them cause I would like to make some for my fav sites... :)
     
  20. drastik macrumors 6502a

    drastik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Nashvegas
    #20
    Here you go, I made these, quickly, so they aren't that hot, a little pixilated.

    I made them by taking an image from the site I liked, cropping it and taking all of the background out in Fireworks. Then I scaled everything down and exported as a gif. I imported the gif into Dreamweaver, then gave it the link and then an alt name (main names can't have spaces,etc.) in the properties area. Then i opened the page in Explorer and dragged them to the top.

    Well, something went terribly wrong there on the page, so I'll fix it, then you can heck them out
    :)
     
  21. drastik macrumors 6502a

    drastik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Nashvegas
    #21
    I think you can make the background completely transparent, I can do it on the static ones, I'll work on motion, but the repetitiveness does get obnoxious, still want my rollover idea to work.
     
  22. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #23
    man I have to get into this

    I'll make a link to my site
     
  23. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #24
    re: drastik

    he he he...I used it on my TiBook last night...

    now I'm the ultimate geek...as I have a direct image link within IE!! :D
     
  24. drastik macrumors 6502a

    drastik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Nashvegas
    #25
    Hmmm...

    Maybe a sort of community site fot these things, just a page somewhere for all of the Macrumors menu icons. Tell you what, send them to me at my email link, and if there is enough interest, I'll post them where mine are, but I'll make the page pretty and all that:D

    mail: here
     

Share This Page