IF a 23 inch iMac gets released, should it have an HDMI port?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Easy Rider, Sep 1, 2006.

  1. Easy Rider macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #1
    A 23 inch LCD seems like such a waste if you can't use it as a TV too.

    The Dell 24 inch is known for it's orgy of inputs:

    D-SUB (VGA), DVI-D, S-Video, component, and composite.

    It would be nice to have an iMac that I can use as a TV for all my video game consoles.
     
  2. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #2
    True, Apple is pissing all over itself not having a Tv option. They cost near nothing.
     
  3. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #3
    It'd be a nice and a very good idea, but to be honest, dont hold your breath. :(
     
  4. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #4
    it would be sweet if they did, but....knowing Apple :rolleyes:
     
  5. amac4me macrumors 65816

    amac4me

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
  6. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #6
    DVI = HDMI without sound (ie extra cables are needed).
     
  7. suneohair macrumors 68020

    suneohair

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #7
    Yeah they should really cut that out, I mean they don't want to get all that money they're making wet... :rolleyes:
     
  8. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #8
    If this is true and there will come a 23" iMac, then I'll be replacing my TV! Unfortunately I just ordered a 23" ACD for my G5, so the moneywell is a bit low... So many wishes...
     
  9. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #9
    I would say that HDMI is very unlikely because if the Cinema Display does not have it then the consumer Mac want.
     
  10. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #10
    The question really is if you want 12 ports extra on the back of you elegant designed iMac or the extra connectivity.

    I think 98% of the market won't use the extra connectability either way.

    I fail to see why it's a plus (especially on the Dell) if you don't use it.
     
  11. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #11
    True, but there are rumors and time for new ACD's.
     
  12. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    The ACDs were updated when the Mac Pro was released just a couple of weeks ago.
     
  13. Clydefrog macrumors 6502a

    Clydefrog

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh,PA
    #13
    it should come with a tv tuner and an update to frontrow
     
  14. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #14
    It won't, and it shouldn't. A computer is a computer. Leave it to do what it's meant to do. Don't try to make something all in one.
     
  15. Fedge macrumors regular

    Fedge

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    #15
    Not really an update, just a price drop. But I'm not complaining . . .
     
  16. MacFan25863 macrumors 6502a

    MacFan25863

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    #16

    I wouldn't mind a small breakout box for media inputs with a single connector like the ACDs do (only with power, DVI, and firewire).

    Almost like Asteroid with coax, RCA/S-Video, Component, and maybe DVI/HDMI. They could sell it as an addon for $100 and make a killing.
     
  17. brandon6684 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    #17
    I don't see them coming with and HDMI port. I think we're just luck they have external video ports at all.
     

Share This Page