If I have 3 DIMM's full of PC 133 RAM in my PM G4..

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Ryan T., Jun 15, 2005.

  1. Ryan T. macrumors 6502a

    Ryan T.

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #1
    am I able to install a stick of PC100? Also, can I just install 256MB sticks, or would a half gig stick of RAM work, bringing my total up to 1.25GB...?

    Thanks for your insight.
     
  2. edwardk9 macrumors member

    edwardk9

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Location:
    Georgia
    #2
    Macs are picky about ram but I have three 133 and one 100. I have one 512 two 256 and a 128 so it could work.
     
  3. Patmian212 macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    If the bus speed is 133mhz and you have pc 133 ram then dont put pc100 ram in the computer because ram always runs as fast as the slowest link so it will slow down all the other ram chips to 100mhz.
     
  4. Ryan T. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Ryan T.

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #4
    thanks, thats exactly what I'm looking for. We have different motherboards, but both G4's, so hopefully it'll be alright.
     
  5. Ryan T. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Ryan T.

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #5
    I have a Dual 450 though, which I think is 100MHz bus anyway...
     
  6. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    Then it will run at 100MHz...

    But the faster RAM should get over the problem the Macs with the 100MHz FSB had with RAM -- they were very strict RAM spec machines better served by PC133.

    BTW, Apple fixed the problem with the 100MHz FSB machines by requiring PC133 anyways.

    Basically put generic PC100 in it and it may not work, generic PC133 should almost always work.

    So stick with PC133 ... or be prepared to return the PC100.
     

Share This Page