If I have a HDTV with a DVI input, can I run my PB through it?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by NCTRNL, Aug 30, 2004.

  1. NCTRNL macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #1
    Just like the title says. If I connect my PB to a DVI input on a HDTV, will it act as a huge monitor?
     
  2. emw macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #2
    There are a couple of threads on this in the forum if you do a search. From what I can tell, it's possible, although you may lose some of the picture. Won't hurt to try, though....
     
  3. FuzzyBallz macrumors 6502a

    FuzzyBallz

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Home of Al-Qaida
    #3
    The HDTV will act like a projector, so yes, it'll work. But of course, the higher resolution on the HDTV, the better.
     
  4. JFreak macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    #4
    yes. i myself have an HDTV video projector which makes a 100" screen ;) with that size i can live with othe 1280x720 resolution :D

    tip: switchresX
     
  5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #5
    Some HDTV units have DVI ports but they may require an encoded, copy-protected signal, such as the output from Samsung's DVD player with upsampling.

    It can't hurt to try, though.
     
  6. clr900 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    #6
    How about on a cable box. My digital cable box has dvi output so can I hook a monitor up to it and have it display what my TV does too?
     

Share This Page