If I stop hosting iWeb site on MobileMe will the URLs Change?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Lordillingworth, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #1
    Hello, a very simple question, and as I am using iWeb I am sure you will understand I am no computer genius!

    I am hoping to stop hosting my iWeb site on mobileme and switch to something like godaddy, I have a quite popular podcast that is hosted on mobileme as part of the site and I am afraid that if I change the hosting that it might break the URLs linking to my site and the podcast feed in iTunes.

    Can anybody tell me if this will happen or if I can change hosting without breaking my website, thanks.

    PS. Just to get this off my chest, I am changing hosting as apples mobileme data transfer tracking has not been working for months, after having over 231GB of transfer in february and over 100 GB for the rest of the months it is important for me to know which subscription I need to be on!
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    As long as you keep the same domain name and update where that name points to, things won't break. The hosts take care of most of this so it's not a hard process.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    dmmcintyre3

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #3
    If you are using your own domain name, no as long as you upload all the files to the same place on the new host.
    If you are using a mobileme subdomain/subdirectory yes
     
  4. macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    I'd stay as far away from GoDaddy as possible when it comes to hosting. They are OK for domain names but it is possible to get sooo much better when it comes to hosting.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #5
    Thanks for the great replies, it's very helpful to a newbie like me!

    I have already got my domain name registered with go daddy, is this likely to be problematic if I try and host somewhere else? Where would you recommend, thanks
    Dan
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    dmmcintyre3

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #6
    No, It is usually better to keep the domain name separate from the host. The host will give you a list of nameservers which you will put in the godaddy control panel.

    I have had a good experience with Hostrail.
     
  7. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #7
    GoDaddy just went up for sale also.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #8
    Hhhmm I have just been testing podcast feeds with an old go daddy hosting account I have and it won't load the podcast page in a browser for the world!
    It just keeps adding the website name from iWeb endlessly to the middle of the URL and just doesn't load the page.

    Very odd, anybody have any ideas?

    Thanks for your replies so far,

    Dan
     

Share This Page