If NOT Dreamweaver... then WHAT???

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iriejedi, Nov 19, 2004.

1. iriejedi macrumors 6502a

iriejedi

Hi everyone - :confused:

I'd really like some opinions on Dreamweaver 'like' software. I have Dreamweave MX (v6.1) and was considering using my Edu discount for v7 (MX 2004) - but I hear on the threads from time to time how this is not a great option; that it is slow and all the other yadda yadda yadda's. in my "SELF-taught" state of skill, with enought knowledge to do real basic stuff, links inside pictures and image changes when a mouse is rolled over and basic tutorial stuff - I thought Dreamweaver was pretty slick. But I have not used anything else to make a genuine comparison.

So Since most major Apps (Go Live, etc...) have a simialr Edu discount - what is considered to be powerful and user friendly and worth the purchase price. What would you buy to go from beginner to a more intermediate level of skill?

Thank you for your opinions. :D

Iriejedi

2. Steven1621 macrumors 6502a

Steven1621

Adobe GoLive is a great program. I tend to prefer Dreamweaver for my work. Just out of habit, perhaps. I'm not sure of the levels of your abilty, but those programs can be learned easily if you take the time. If you want easy webdesign, MS FrontPage for Windows is you best bet. They make it painless with all the templates and such. I say go with Dreamweaver or FrontPage, though.

3. Thirteenva macrumors 6502a

If you have Dreamweaver MX and only a basic skill level, why do you need to upgrade? DW MX was a pretty good product (in some ways better than DW MX '04) so just stick with that. Spend the money on something else. I don't think you need to upgrade to MX '04 or move to GoLive.

4. kgarner macrumors 68000

kgarner