If you are having problems with your 2010 pro, where did it ship from?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by davelanger, Sep 18, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #1
    If you are having problems with your 2010 pro, where did it ship from?
    Just trying to figure out of they all came from the same factory.

    Mine shipped from IRVING, TX
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    ovrlrd

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #2
    The shipping location is not a good way to find out which factory it was manufactured in. There is probably a way to figure it out with the serial number, but I am not sure how to figure that out based on that, maybe someone else does.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #3
    oh I thought where ever it shipped from is where is was put together.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    #4
    I don't think there are any Mac Pros made in Texas, Apple may just send 'em there to re-ship elsewhere. I believe everything comes from Hon Hai (Foxconn) in Shenzhen.

    You can obtain extremely detailed system information using Tinkertool System:

    http://www.bresink.com/osx/TinkerToolSys2.html

    Click on nfo.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #5
    If you saw the price on a Mac Pro that was completely made in Texas, it would probably make your head spin/explode. ;)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #6


    Even when they add more RAM And Graphics cards, those are also done in Hon Hai?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    ovrlrd

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #7
    Adding more RAM, hard drives, or graphics cards to a Mac Pro is pretty trivial, so I assume they do it since it might be cheaper (it gets boxed up, etc). The reason it shipped from Texas was probably due to warehousing (they stock up on every possible config for quicker shipping) or redirected international shipments.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #8
    Oh ok, I thought the TX warehouse for example would store all of the base models then add the RAM and graphic cards etc made to each order. So maybe one or two of the warehouses had bad batches of video cards that they were installing.
     
  9. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    That is what happens for CTO. Base systems can be shipped from there or directly from China for US orders (i.e. when there's a shortage at the warehouse as there's no need to modify any of the internal components, such as when they first begin to ship).

    As per the problematic cards, it's hard to say what's going on, as there's little information out to go on (could be firmware, drivers, or a bad batch in terms of the actual hardware).
     

Share This Page