If you want to jailbreak, don't update to OSX 10.5.6

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Surely, Dec 15, 2008.

  1. Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    I read about this on TUAW. iPhone Ally is reporting that if you place the iPhone in DFU mode (similar to a restore mode), your iPhone will be unrecognized by a Mac running 10.5.6.

    From TUAW:
    "DFU mode is required to jailbreak your iPhone using many of the popular tools such as Pwnage or QuickPwn. So far there is no word from the iPhone Dev group on this finding. In doing our own research, we discovered that the problem does, in fact, exist. So, if you need to jailbreak your iPhone/iPod touch, you might want to hold off on updating your Mac."

    This is the same problem that is being experienced by new aluminum MacBook and MBP owners that have tried to jailbreak.

    I didn't see any thread about this, so I thought I'd pass along this info.

    I know I'll be waiting a little while before I update.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #2
    Wonder what happens if someone backs up their Mobile.kext and updates then restores...
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #3
    Crap - I just updated. My phone is already jailbroken though so hopefully this will not be a problem when the next update is available.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #4
    I just used QuickPwn on 10.5.6 with my girlfriend's iPhone 2G. It went into DFU mode fine and it was able to easily QuickPwn.

    Then for fun, I put my iPod touch into DFU mode. iTunes detected it and it restored properly. I don't understand what people are crying about.

    I have a Mac Pro by the way.
     
  5. macrumors 604

    jmann

    #5
    More so, I hope that this doesn't affecting running the unlock tool that the dev team will eventually release. :(
     
  6. thread starter Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    Well that's good to hear. Hopefully this was only experienced by people that aren't able to count and hold buttons down at the same time.

    I hope your experience is more the norm than what the article is reporting.
     
  7. macrumors G3

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #7
    If DFU mode does not work, its merely a glitch, apple would not remove the one sure fire way to restore an ipod from the system. If they did theyd get ALOT of lawsuits from people with bricked ipods (legitamite ones).

    DFU exsists purely as a last resort, removing it doesnt make sense.
     
  8. macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #8
    I haven't tried it with my iPhone 3G yet. I've done both iPhone 2G and iPod touch and both worked. I had no idea that 10.5.6 was supposed to screw DFU mode up until after I did both of them. Then I read this and I was like... what?.. but, I just jailbroke 2 devices on 10.5.6. Sure enough, for the fun of it, I put my iPod touch back into DFU mode and it worked just fine. Heh, whatever.

    Can anyone else confirm?
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    drichards

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #9
    The quickpwn team are a pretty resourceful bunch, I'm sure they'll figure out whatever Apple can throw at them.
     
  10. macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #10
    I figured out a fix! Don't plug it directly into the computer's USB port to put your iPhone into DFU. Plug it into a hub. I had mine plugged into my Apple Cinema Display... that's why it was able to work! Plug it into a Keyboard, a Display or a powered USB hub and it should go into DFU mode just fine. Sweet. Crisis averted!
     
  11. thread starter Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    That's not a fix, it's a workaround. Maybe a temporary one.
    It was already discovered if you read the comments section of the TUAW article (Chuck @ 8:18PM EST)
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #12
    This "fix" has been around for soooo long. It's amazing that people are just now catching on.
     
  13. thread starter Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #13
    How could it have "been around for soooo long"? 10.5.6 just came out today. :confused::confused:
     
  14. macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #14
    This was the workaround on the alum MBs which have always had this issue.
     
  15. macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #15
    So does anyone have the 10.5.5 kexts...it seems having to use a USB hub isn't the ideal solution...especially for laptops
     
  16. macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #16
    I do! I just do not know what kext files to get. I looked in Extensions and there was only about 5 files that were modified yesterday. They all looked like Graphics files... not USB or MobileDevice files.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Up North, UK
    #17
    Downloads here - http://blog.iphone-dev.org/
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #18
    Damn does this mean the pwntool to unlock the 2g iphone will not work? I just upgraded yesterday. Damn it. I should have waiting. :mad:
     
  19. macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #19
    That seems to only tell you how to replace it not give you the actual files
     
  20. macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #20
    From another thread:

    I just did it... but, I'm not at home to check to see if it worked. (I did it over VNC)
     
  21. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #21
    Does the usb hub need to be powered or unpowered?
     
  22. macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #22
    It probably should be powered.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    #23
    I used a hub that was powered and it worked. I'm running 10.5.6 AND I'm on a unibody Macbook.
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #24
    Could you tell me what USB hub model did you use? Because I been trying to jailbreak my iPhone but I get stuck in a white screen and I been using a USB hub thAt conects straight to the port.
     
  25. dZp
    macrumors 6502a

    dZp

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #25

Share This Page