ilfe 4

Discussion in 'macOS' started by robinduncan, Jul 20, 2006.

  1. robinduncan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    #1
    Hi I'm just buying some stuff to upgrade my prehistoric (almost) iMac... will iLife 4 run with Jaguar easily enough?
    cheers,
    Robin
     
  2. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #2
    no. You will need to upgrade your system. System 10.3 (and 10.4) are much faster on the same hardware than 10.2. They will be much faster for you, too. My conclusions are made using 10.2, 10.3 and later 10.4 on a Mac G3 350 MHz with DVD ROM drive.
     
  3. robinduncan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    #3
    mmm... interesting. Been looking on ebay to find Panther or Tiger.

    Would an install DVD, OSX 10.4.2, for Powerbook G4 work on my iMac?

    I've got 400 MHz, internal DVD, usb, firewire etc.

    Apologies for any hint of "stupid question" about this...

    Robin
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Those discs are locked to the type of computer they came with, so in this case a PowerBook G4. Also those copies of OSX are legally tied to the machines they shipped with. You would be breaking the license conditions if you installed it.
     
  5. robinduncan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    #5
    Right, thanks. Guess I'd better look for a boxed version?
    Cool name by the way.
    c ya,
    Robin (also Scottish)
     
  6. robinduncan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    #6
    Hi,
    just before I buy:

    1.
    would installing Tiger or Panther on my iMac be likely to provoke more problems than installing Jaguar (as I say, it's an iMac G3, 400Mhz, DVD, Firewire etc.)

    2.
    Once installed, would they really be faster as Soulstorm suggests? (I just want a second opinion to be sure before I fork out. No offence intended Soulstorm!
     
  7. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #7
    I can definitely support his claim that the speed increases.

    If you have less then 512MB of ram you would see better performance with Panther most likely.

    Luckily its much cheaper then Tiger.

    If you have 512MB of ram and don't mind paying for Tiger, go for it.

    My sawtooth came with 10.1 installed, it was soooo slow.

    I installed tiger and its very useable (the main computer I use is a MBP to give you some perspective).
     
  8. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    I'd agree. Unless you NEED the additional features of Tiger (or want to install software that requires Tiger) I'd go for Panther as it's most likely going to be faster on your hardware.
     

Share This Page