Illustrator CS question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by robotrenegade, Oct 8, 2004.

  1. robotrenegade macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #1
    Well, you know you can copy and paste in alomst anything. I was wondering if you can copy then plaste but have the paste right over the coped image?
     
  2. kgarner macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    I do this by using smartguides and copying via the option key (with the move tool). I select the move tool, hold down option, and select the center (with smart guide) then I move a way a little and come back and place it back on the center point (again with smart guide). That works for me at least.
     
  3. robotrenegade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #3
    I know better ways then that, I just had a bet with someone that adobe products don't have paste in place tool like macromedia. (Use the transform window.)
     
  4. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #4
    Let me see if I understand correctly. You want to copy an image (picture, vector shape, etc) in Illustrator, then paste the same object exactly over it the original? If so do this:

    Copy the object > Then Command + F or EDIT > Paste in front.
     
  5. kgarner macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #5
    I am sure there are better ways. I am just starting to learn Illustrator and that's how I have figured out how to do it with my extremely limited knowledge.
     
  6. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #6
    Illustrator can paste in place (paste in front) but my biggest complaint is why these companies can't agree on some common key commands. A lot of them are the same, but a lot of them are different. Macromedia seems to be the biggest offender- they even change key commands between versions of their own products, and between products in the same rev of the same suite..
     

Share This Page